There is no better method than classroom discussion to actively engage students with course material. Most faculty are not aware that there is an extensive body of research on the topic from which instructors can learn to facilitate exceptional classroom discussion. Discussion in the College Classroom is a practical guide which utilizes that research, frames it sociologically, and offers advice, along with a wide variety of strategies, to help you spark a relevant conversation and steer it toward specific learning goals.
Offers administrators, faculty, and students both the theoretical grounding and practical guidelines needed to develop student-faculty partnerships that affirm and improve teaching and learning in higher education. Provides theory and evidence to support new efforts in student-faculty partnerships. Describes various models for creating and supporting such partnerships. Helps faculty overcome some of the perceived barriers to student-faculty partnerships. Suggests a range of possible levels of partnership that might be appropriate in different circumstances. Includes helpful responses to a range of questions as well as advice from faculty, students, and administrators who have hands-on experience with partnership programs. Balancing theory, step-by-step guidelines, expert advice, and practitioner experience, this book is a comprehensive why- and how-to handbook for developing a successful student-faculty partnership program.
Introduces seven general principles of how students learn. The authors have drawn on research from a breadth of perspectives (cognitive, developmental, and social psychology; educational research; anthropology; demographics; organizational behavior) to identify a set of key principles underlying learning, from how effective organization enhances retrieval and use of information to what impacts motivation. Integrating theory with real-classroom examples in practice, this book helps faculty to apply cognitive science advances to improve their own teaching.
Higher education institutions are more diverse than ever before, as are the students they serve. There is no one approach that will work for teaching all students in all circumstances. This book offers a succinct description of several pedagogical paths available to faculty that can actively engage all students. In addition to providing the most recent information on learning and assessment, individual chapters tackle different approaches, including critical pedagogy, contemplative pedagogy, strengths-based teaching, and cooperative/collaborative learning.
Packed with practical guidance, proven techniques, and expert perspectives, this book helps instructors improve student learning both face-to-face and online. Chapters on building critical thinking into course design, creating a welcoming classroom environment, helping students learn how to learn, giving and receiving feedback, and teaching in multiple modes, along with the latest research and new questions to facilitate faculty discussion. Topics include new coverage of the flipped classroom, cutting-edge technologies, self-regulated learning, the mental processes involved in learning and memory, and more, in the accessible format and easy-to-understand style that has made this book a much-valued resource among college faculty.
Each of the one hundred and one entries: describes an approach and lists its essential features and elements demonstrates how that approach has been used in education, including specific examples from different disciplines reviews findings from the research literature describes techniques to improve effectiveness. Teaching for Learning provides instructors with a resource grounded in the academic knowledge base, written in an easily accessible, engaging, and practical style.
Creative and interactive activities to get all your students talking and learning, from the first class to final review. Help students learn more and retain that knowledge longer by teaching them how to question, debate, annotate, imitate, write, draw, map, stage, or perform. A collection of successful approaches for teaching fiction, poetry, and drama and their historical, cultural, and literary contexts, this indispensable book showcases the tried and true alongside the fresh and innovative.
Makes the case for maintaining--even while re-imagining and re-inventing--the place of the survey as a transformative experience for literature students. The volume is at once a set of practical suggestions for working teachers (including sample documents like worksheets and syllabi) and a provocative engagement with the question of what introductory courses can and should be.
Many more books on a broad range of topics are available, many as ebooks. Search the Library catalog, or go directly to one of Memorial Library's ebook databases:
Concrete suggestions about specific strategies and approaches for faculty who teach first-year courses. Based on the most current research on teaching and learning and incorporates information about the demographic changes that have occurred in student populations since the first edition was published. Strategies are designed to help first-year students adjust effectively to both the academic and nonacademic pressures of college and to help faculty understand first-year students.
Building on the insights offered by recent discoveries about the biological basis of learning, and on his own thought-provoking definitions of teaching, learning and education, the author proceeds to the practical details of instruction that teachers are most interested in--the things that make or break teaching. The author provides teachers with a map to develop their own teaching philosophy, and effective nuts-and-bolts advice. His approach is particularly useful for those facing a cohort of first year students less prepared for college and university. He is concerned to develop in his students habits and skills that will equip them for a lifetime of learning.
With the help of How to Be Successful in Your First Year of Teaching College, you can achieve not only your perfect first day, but a successful and productive first year as well. You will learn to take control of your classroom and provide students with a fun and effective setting in which they can actively succeed in your class and beyond.
Full of experienced-tested, research based advice for graduate students and new teaching faculty, this book provides a range of innovative and traditional strategies that work well without requiring extensive preparation or long grading sessions when you're trying to meet your own demanding research and service requirements.
Rather than prescribe any single model for success, Filene lays out the advantages and disadvantages of various pedagogical strategies, inviting new teachers to make choices based on their own personalities, values, and goals. Filene tackles everything from syllabus writing and lecture planning to class discussions, grading, and teacher-student interactions outside the classroom. The book's down-to-earth, accessible style makes it appropriate for new teachers in all fields. Instructors in the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences will all welcome its invaluable tips for successful teaching and learning.
This book presents the knowledge base of college teaching in a user-friendly, easy-to-read, yet well-researched format. From sample syllabi to the creation of an effective grading scale, this book covers critically important aspects of organizing and teaching your curriculum.
A hands-on, quick-start guide to the complexities of the college classroom for instructors in their first five years of teaching independently. The chapters survey the existing literature on how to effectively teach young adults, offering specific solutions to the most commonly faced classroom dilemmas. An extensive discussion of the relationship between classroom design and class size, as well as tips of assessment and grading, enable the new instructor to better handle the challenges of contemporary college classrooms.
Combining insights from multicultural education theory and research with real-life classroom stories, this demonstrates that all students will perform better on multiple measures of achievement when teaching is filtered through their own cultural experiences. This new edition has been revised to include a new section on standards and diversity; new examples of culturally diverse curriculum content; an emphasis on positive, action-driven possibilities in student-teacher relationships; and new material on culturally diverse communication.
Stephen Brookfield shows how you can uncover and assess your assumptions about practice by viewing them through the lens of your students' eyes, your colleagues' perceptions, relevant theory and research, and your own personal experience. Chapters on critical reflection in the context of social media, teaching race and racism, leadership in a critically reflective key, and team teaching as critical reflection. Educators with the courage to challenge their own assumptions in an effort to improve learning are the invaluable role models our students need.
Easy-to-implement active learning techniques that gauge student learning across academic disciplines and learning environments. Using Fink's Taxonomy of Significant Learning as its organizational framework, it embeds assessment within active learning activities. An invaluable asset for college teachers of any subject, Learning Assessment Techniques provides a practical framework for seamlessly integrating teaching, learning, and assessment.
Emphasizes making assessment useful and attention to building a culture in which assessment is used to inform important decisions; an enhanced focus on the many settings of assessment, especially general education. Chapters on curriculum design and assessing the hard-to-assess and new frameworks for rubric design and setting standards and targets.
A much-needed resource for faculty and professional staff to build quality online courses by focusing on quality standards in instructional design and transparency in learning outcomes in the design of online courses. It includes effective instructional strategies to motivate online learners, help them become more self-directed, and develop academic skills to persist and successfully complete a program of study online. It also includes a more in-depth understanding of instructional design principles to support faculty as they move their face-to-face courses to the online environment.
Graphic novels are an excellent medium to motivate today's youth to become independent learners and thinkers. This practical guide shows secondary school teachers how to incorporate graphic novels into content area instruction as a tool for meeting the needs of diverse learners and achieving the goals of the Common Core State Standards. The authors provide instructional guidelines with classroom examples that demonstrate how graphic novels can be used to expand content knowledge and literacy in science, social studies, math, and English/language arts. Teachers will appreciate the book's specific suggestions for selecting graphic novels and for employing responsive practices that will build students' reading, writing, speaking, listening, and media competencies.
Comics and sequential art are increasingly in use in college classrooms. Multimodal, multimedia and often collaborative, the graphic narrative format has entered all kinds of subject areas and its potential as a teaching tool is still being realized. This collection of new essays presents best practices for using comics in various educational settings, beginning with the basics. Contributors explain the need for teachers to embrace graphic novels. Multimodal composition is demonstrated by the use of comics. Strategies are offered for teachers who have struggled with weak visual literacy skills among students. Student-generated comics are discussed with several examples. The teaching of postmodern theories and practices through comics is covered. An appendix features assignment sheets so teachers can jump right in with proven exercises.
Gregory Light and Marina Micari reject the view that science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are elite disciplines restricted to a small number with innate talent. Making Scientists offers a new paradigm of how scientific subjects can be taught at the college level to underrepresented groups.
Offers examples of college teaching that builds on what students learned in high school. Understanding that college does not exist in a vacuum, the chapter authors demonstrate how to adapt the methods and frameworks under which secondary students have been working and make them their own for the college classroom, adding new technologies when appropriate and letting the students take an active role in their learning.