LibGuides: Anthropology: Resources

General Databases with access to ANT journals

Our general research databases are excellent tools because they search so many topics at once, but it can also be difficult to narrow results due to the sheer breadth of their scope. Try using advanced search techniques like narrowing results to specific subject areas (sociology/anthropology).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for over 5,300 journals from a variety of disciplines. Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Includes 33 anthropology Titles.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A complete digitized archive of over 1,200 core scholarly journals, covering a variety of disciplines. Includes 27 AAA anthropology journals, and 80 anthropology titles altogether.
Memorial Library also has access to 48,000 backlist book titles from 88 publishers, in addition to JSTOR's thousands of open access ebooks. JSTOR ebooks will be included in Library search results, but you can also search the full JSTOR ebook collection here.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-image, full-text electronic delivery of over 160 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Includes 12 anthropology titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

Subject-Specific Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of critical literature reviews covering primary research literature for a broad range of disciplines within biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Memorial Library subscribes to full-text for selected series only, but all titles are freely searchable at this site.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Index/abstracts, anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
A resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the 18th century to today, providing pervasive indexing of thousands of sources, including journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries.

Updated with new records on a monthly basis and represents more than 50 foreign languages, including English, German, Romance languages, Slavic languages, and Asian languages if there are summaries in one of the indexed languages.

Databases Included: Anthropological Index Online, Anthropological Literature
eHRAF Explaining Human Culture This link opens in a new window
Developed by the HRAF, Explaining World Cultures indexes studies of cross-cultural importance from the anthropological literature.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Cross-cultural database of ethnographic information covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Includes some full-text with indexing for additional books, articles, dissertations, and more.

Data Sources

Sometimes it is necessary to find statistical data and other forms of data sets for your research. Below are just a few data sources that are available to help with anthropological research. For more help in this area don't hesitate to contact one of our librarians for assistance.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visually explore demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more.
Users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers. For full functionality, Berry students, faculty & staff sign up for an individual account while connected to the Berry network.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Definitive compilation of statistical information from U.S. federal and state governments, businesses, and international publications.

DataPortals.org
Claims to be the most comprehensive list of open data portals in the world. It is curated by a group of leading open data experts from around the world - including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organisations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs.
Census.gov
Data from the Census Bureau about the people and economy of the U.S.
World Bank Data Catalog
Download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

Reference Sources

Reference materials can give you some of the basic information needed to progress further in your research. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Bibliographies, and other sources can be a vital part of establishing great research.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Quick reference coverage of all subjects.
Combines quick reference coverage of a full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions.
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Authoritative guidance for researchers at all levels. Scholarly articles include citations, annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways through the most useful and important works on the topic in question.

Anthropology

Librarian

Ways to Contact Memorial Library with Social Media (Nav Column)

General Databases with access to ANT journals

Subject-Specific Databases

Data Sources

Reference Sources