Skip to main content

Behavioral Ecology: Articles & More

BIO 415, Dr. Mowry

Conducting a Behaviorally-Based Research Project

Effective Research Techniques Include:

  • Browsing the discipline's primary literature to get ideas
  • Keeping up with news of the field
  • Knowing how to find relevant books and articles on your topic
  • Organizing citations and texts
  • Scheduling a research consultation appointment

Find Articles on Biology Topics

These databases search the full scope of the biological sciences and other scientific literature. For the most comprehensive results, try more than one database. While each database offers different features, these search hints apply to most:   

Refine search results by adding other limits such as year, language, full text, etc.
Sort by date, author, title, or relevance.
Look for links to view full text of articles online.
For articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection, look for a link to request interlibrary loan. Often, these links will automatically fill in the request form for you once you've set up an ILLiad account.

Other Techniques

► Use the bibliography/reference list of articles & other sources you find. ► Check relevant articles in Web of Science or Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authorsLook for review articles on your topic. Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!

Birds of North America

Liaison Librarian

Sherre Harrington's picture
Sherre Harrington
Contact:
215 Memorial Library
706-236-2285

Finding Articles Once You Have a Citation

In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?

Check the Journal Locator!

Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.

If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.