Skip to main content

Graphic Novels: Online Resources & Tools

Graphic novels and comic strips

Tomb of Dracula

Comic Resources Online

Research
Comics Research.org

An annotated bibliography of comics scholarship, including dissertations, periodicals, conferences, organizations, and library collections.

The Comic Chronicles

Provides historical sales and circulation data and statistics for American graphic novels and comic books reaching back to the 1960s.

Comics Research Bibliography

A fairly extensive bibliography of books, articles, and other publications related to comics, cartoons, and animation, provided by John Bullough of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Comic books and graphic novels: Digital resources for an evolving form of art and literature

This article from College & Research Libraries News (Feb. 2005) is a research guide for web resources on graphic novels, many not covered here.

Library Collections
Comics Research Libraries

This page lists and describes the holdings of major comics research collections worldwide. Created and maintained by Randall W. Scott, Comics Librarian at Michigan State University

Comics Resources Online

Reviews
School Library Journal

Provides reviews of comics titles for K-12 audiences.

No Flying, No Tights

Created and maintained by Robin Brenner, the Teen Librarian at the Brookline, MA, Public Library, this website provides reviews of graphic novels split up into adult, teen, and children's categories, as well as into genre categories.

Comics Worth Reading

A comics, manga, a graphic novel review blog created by Johanna Draper Carlson, a reviewer from Publisher's Weekly.

The Comics Journal

Online journal of articles and reviews concerning current and classic sequential art published by Fantagraphics Books.

Organizations

Friends of Lulu

An organization which promotes both readership and creation of comics by females.

Prism Comics

This website of Prism Comics, a non-profit organization which supports LGBT comics; provides news coverage of, and for, LGBT comics, creators, and readers.

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund

The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund was created in 1986 as a non-profit organization which works in defense of First Amendment Rights for the comic book community.

 

Spiderman

Comic Resources Online

News
Comic Book Resources

This website provides news, columns, and reviews covering both past and current comic books, as well as comics movie adaptations.

Newsarama

This website provides news and reviews covering current comic book titles.

Fleen

This blog, maintained by Gary Tyrell and Anne Thalheimer, provides news coverage of many major webcomics.

Digital Collections
Cartoon Image Database

This digital image database of the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum at Ohio State University contains thousands of scanned images from the collections of Ohio State's manga collection, the Treasury of Fine Art and San Francisco's Academy of Comic Art.