Skip to main content

Globalization and Local Communities: Databases

Supports ANT 340

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to browse a list of print and online journals in anthropology or other areas of interest.

Or, if you have already been referred to a particular journal, and need to know if Memorial Library offers online or print access to it, use the Journal Locator to search for all available access points.

Finding Articles: Making Effective Use of Google Scholar for Powerful, Fast Search and Retrieval

Google Scholar offers powerful, fast searching of massive amounts of material and may actually prove a time-saver as long as you're aware of the following caveats:

1) Since Google refuses to provide a list of titles it is crawling, you as the searcher do not really know which titles are covered and which ones are not.

2) Not all materials in Google Scholar are 'scholarly', i.e., peer-reviewed.

3) The 'Full-text' @Berry'indicators are accurate most, but not all of the time.  And for off-campus use of Google Scholar, you must be sure to set your 'preferences' to Berry College Memorial Library, or the indicator will not be present at all.

Google Scholar Search

Online Research Resources

Research Databases: Anthropology

Anthropology Research Guide

  A | C | D | E | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | P | R | S | W

Some Full-text Available    Trial Subscription    New Resource

A

  Academic Search Complete - (EBSCO/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription

Additional Information/Links: Replaces Academic Search Premier
Description: Provides full-text for over 5,300 journals from a variety of disciplines. Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage: 1865 - Present (Varies by Title)

Return


  Access World News: International Newspapers - (Newsbank) 


Description: Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Coverage: Varies by Title
Access Note: On Campus Access Only
 


  Access World News: U.S. Newspapers - (Newsbank) 


Description: Access World News offers access to over 800 full text newspapers including back issue access to the Atlanta Journal Constitution.
Coverage: Varies by Title
Access Note: Available on campus only

 

  Annals of American History - (Encyclopaedia Britannica/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription 


Description: Includes the full text of over 2000 primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism.
Coverage: 1493-2003
Access Note: Available off-campus via GALILEO password
 


  Anthropological Index Online - (Royal Anthropological Institute)


Description: Index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library
Coverage: 1970-
Access Note: No password required
 


  ARTstor - (Andrew W. Mellon Foundation)

Additional Information/Links: Tutorial - "ARTstor in 3 minutes"
Description: A repository of 300,000+ digital images and related data. Sources include the Art History Survey Collection, the Carnegie Arts of the United States, the Huntington Archive of Asian Art, Museum of Modern Art's Architecture and Design Collection, and a growing number of other important collections.
Coverage:
Access Note: Available off campus via Berry College email username and password
 


  Census Data - (GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription 


Description: Collection of links to sites that provide access to demographic, economic, and social data
Coverage: Current & Retrospective

Return to Top


  Chronicle of Higher Education - (Chronicle) 

Additional Information/Links: Chronicle Campuswide
Description: The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Coverage:
Access Note: Available off-campus via Berry email username and password

Return to Top


  ClasePeriodica - (OCLC FirstSearch/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: An index of Latin American and Caribbean journals in the sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1975 - Present

Return to Top


  Contemporary Women's Issues - (Gale)


Description: A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. 

Return to Top


  Credo Reference - (Credo) 


Description: Credo Reference features full-text, aggregated content from over 270 reference titles and 57 publishers, with over 3 million entries covering every major subject.
Coverage:
Access Note: Available off-campus via Berry email username and password.

Return to Top


  Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ ) - (DOAJ) 


Description: DOAJ offers access to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages.
Coverage:

Return to Top


  Dissertation Abstracts/Digital Dissertations - (ProQuest/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions
Coverage: 1861- | Abstracts from 1980

Return to Top


  GeorgiaNet - Georgia Department of Archives & History - (GeorgiaNet/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Maintains information on the organization and collections of Georgia's recorded history
Coverage: Current

Return to Top


  HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) - (Library of Congress)


Description: Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars
Coverage: 1935-

Return to Top


  In the First Person - (Alexander Street Press)


Description: Indexes more than 2,500 collections of oral history from around the world
Coverage:
Access Note: This is a free database

Return to Top


 

  JSTOR - (JSTOR) 


Description: A complete digitized archive of over 200 core scholarly journals, covering a variety of disciplines
Coverage: Varies By Title | 1665-
Access Note: Accessible off-campus via your Berry email username and password.

Return to Top


  LexisNexis Statistical - (Lexis-Nexis/CIS)


Description: Provides comprehensive access to U.S. government-generated statistics
Coverage: 1960s-
Access Note: Accessible off campus via Berry e-mail username and password

Return to Top


  Los Angeles Times via ProQuest - (ProQuest/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Full-Text of the Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 2/1988-

Return to Top


  MLA International Bibliography - (EBSCO/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Indexes critical literary and language scholarship, including literature, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals
Coverage: 1926-

Return to Top


  NCM: 19th Century Masterfile: Series I - (Paratext)


Description: Collection of core periodical indices spanning nearly all periodicals of the late 18th through early 20th century, including Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and other key indexes to 19th century periodical literature. Over one million entries (cita
Coverage: Poole's 1802-1907 | Jones and Chapman 1786-1922 | Richardson 1890-1899 | Stead's 1890-1902

Return to Top


  New York Times, Historical (1851-2002) - (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 


Description: Provides full-image/pdf access to the complete run of The New York Times through 2002. Includes cover-to-cover access complete with all graphics. Includes photographs, advertisements, maps, etc. as well as all editorials and columns.
Coverage: 1851-2002
Access Note: Accessible off campus via Berry e-mail username and password

Return to Top


  PILOTS - (CSA)

Additional Information/Links: (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
Description: PILOTS includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage. Document types covered include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, technical reports, and material in all languages.
Coverage: 1871-current
Access Note: Available off campus via Berry email username and password.

Return to Top


  Project Muse - (Johns Hopkins University) 


Description: Full-image, full-text electronic delivery of over 160 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Coverage: 1995-current (varies by title)
Access Note: Accessible off campus via Berry e-mail username and password

Return to Top


  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - (EBSCO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: A database with more than 470 full-text journals. It covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Coverage: 1984-
Access Note: Available off campus via GALILEO password.

Return to Top


  Religion & Philosophy Collection - (EBSCO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Religion & Philosophy Collection has more than 243 full-text journals covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.
Coverage: 1984-
Access Note: Available off campus via GALILEO password.

Return to Top


  Research Library - (ProQuest/GALILEO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Multi-disciplinary, full-text database which indexes nearly 2,500 scholarly journals as well as general magazines. Full-text available for over 1,000 titles.
Coverage: Varies by Title
Access Note: Accessible off-campus via GALILEO password

Return to Top


  Science & Technology Collection - (EBSCO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Contains over 800 full-text journals covering topics such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.
Coverage:
Access Note: Available off campus via GALILEO password.

Return to Top


  Sociological Abstracts - (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)

Additional Information/Links: Sociological Abstracts, 1963- | International Review of Publications in Sociology, 1980- | Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts, 1979-
Description: Draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations
Coverage: 1963-
Access Note: Accessible off campus via Berry e-mail username and password

Return to Top


  Sociological Collection - (EBSCO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Contains over 475 full-text titles with topics including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Coverage: 1984-
Access Note: Available off campus via GALILEO password.

Return to Top


  Southeastern Native American Documents - (GALILEO)


Description: Over 1,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. The collection is comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers and archaeological images.
Coverage: 1730-1842



  World Data Analyst - (Encyclopaedia Britannica) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Includes current and historical statistics on 217 countries of the world. The resource includes tools for comparing and ranking data and creating tables that can be exported into spreadsheets.
Coverage:
Access Note: Available off-campus via GALILEO password.

Return to Top


  World History Collection - (EBSCO) GALILEO Database Subscription


Description: Contains full text for more than 130 titles covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.
Coverage: 1964-
Access Note: Available off campus via GALILEO password



 

Instructional Services Librarian