Skip to main content

Southern Women Writers Conference 2009: Connie May Fowler

"Many Souths: Remembering, Sustaining, Creating."

About the Author

Connie May Fowler is the author of five critically acclaimed novels, including Before Women Had Wings, recipient of the 1996 Southern Book Critics Circle Award and adapted for the Emmy Award-winning film produced by Oprah Winfrey, and The Problem with Murmur Lee (2005). 

Her essays have been published in The New York Times, The London Times, The Japan Times, and Oxford American.  In her memoir, When Katie Wakes (2002), she recounts her descent into and escape from an abusive relationship.  Her work has been translated into 15 languages and is published worldwide. She now teaches writing workshops globally.

Books By Connie May Fowler

 When Katie Wakes:  A Memoir
Call Number:  PS3556.O 8265 Z477 2003
Location:  Circulating Collection -- 2nd Floor Memorial Library

Sugar Cage
Call Number:  PS3556.O8265 S93 1993
Location:  Circulating Collection -- 2nd Floor Memorial Library


The following titles are not currently in the library.  For more information, click the linked titles to be directed to

The Problem with Murmur Lee
ISBN  978-0767921459

Remembering Blue:  A Novel
ISBN  978-0345439246

Before Women Had Wings
ISBN  978-0804118903

River of Hidden Dreams
ISBN  978-0449983638