Presented by the American Film Institute, the nation's preeminent organization dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of the moving image, this is the most comprehensive reference book on filmmaking ever published. Providing detailed information on the world of film, its history and its personalities, this single volume is loaded with enough facts and trivia to satisfy any movie buff.
"International in scope, this book offers 1,244 substantially annotated entries, organized by topic. Its focus is movies and television shows: how they are produced; the people who make and appear in them; their content, their distribution and exhibition; and their reception by audiences, reviewers, critics, and scholars. An indispensable guide for librarians, faculty, students, neophyte filmmakers, and fans everywhere."
Film noir is a uniquely American genre that has stylistic links to the German expressionist cinema of the 1920s and thematic links to the hard-boiled crime fiction that emerged in the 1930s. Generally the milieu is urban and middle class, and the overall feel is one of repression and fatalism. Whether shot in black and white or color, the style reinforces the overall feel.Films, directors, actors, producers, screenwriters, art directors, themes, plot devices and many other elements are contained in this encyclopedic reference work. Each movie entry includes full filmographic data (studio, running time, production and cast credits, and plot synopsis) along with an analysis of its place in the genre. Biographical entries focus on the person's role in noir and provide a complete filmography of their film noir work. Terms are placed in the context of the genre and relevant examples from films are given.
This fantastic 10 volume encyclopedic set lists every English-speaking motion picture EVER released to theaters from 1927 to 1984, more than 25,000 entries. A splendid and entertaining history of movies since the beginning. (Vol. 10 lists every silent film known). Lively plot synopses, critique, ratings, and fascinating detail about each and every film made, the blockbusters and bombs, Listing the cast and roles they played, release date, behind-the-scenes anecdotes, and far more. Example:after lovable Fred McMurray played a cad in Billy Wilder's "The Apartment" (1960) he got so much angry fanmail insisting he play only "good guys" that he never accepted a bad guy role again.
Frank Eugene Beaver is Professor Emeritus of Communication/ Film and Video Studies at the University of Michigan where he has been teaching film for thirty-five years. In 1989 he was named Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Communication. He has served as Chair of the Department of Communication and as Director of the Masters Program in Telecommunication Arts and Film.
"This encyclopedia covers all aspects of scholarship on early cinema, both traditional and revisionist. It contains articles on the technological and industrial developments, the techniques of film production, the actors and filmmakers of the time, and on the changing modes of representation and narration, as well as the social and cultural contexts within which early films circulated, including topics such as distribution, exhibition, and audience. Beyond the USA and Europe, attention is also given to the wider international picture, including those regions in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, and South and Central America where filmmaking may have been relatively undeveloped but movie-going was significant." "More than 950 entries have been commissioned from internationally recognized specialists. Alphabetically organized, the entries range in length from short factual articles to full essays that offer clear and stimulating discussions of the key issues, people, practices, and phenomena of early cinema. A thematic list of entries is a useful guide through the book, and all entries contain detailed cross-references. The longer articles have considered suggestions for further reading, which are complemented by a general bibliography of specialized works on early cinema."
The first seven volumes in this set discuss 700 foreign language films in essays that cover important names, eras, trends and genres. Each essay provides details on release date, producer, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director and running time. The last volume is an index.
With over 800 articles from scholars around the world, the Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film is a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumïre brothers' Workers Leaving the Lumïre Factory (1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 (2004). All over the world documentary films have provided engaging, provocative, and skilled representations of life and this Encyclopedia provides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopedia examine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation. With over 200 film stills, this resource provides the decisive entry point into the history of an art form.
Worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Coverage: 1915 - present
Combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
A complete digitized archive of over 1,200 core scholarly journals, covering a variety of disciplines.
Cinema Journal (1966-2008)
Journal of the Society of Cinematologists (1961-1964)
Film Quarterly (1958-2011)
Hollywood Quarterly (1945-1951)
Full-image, full-text electronic delivery of over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Camera Obscura (2000-2004)
Wide Angle (1996-1999)
Cinema Journal (1999-to date)
Film and History (2004-to date)
Film History (2005-to date)
Framework (2006-to date)
The Moving Image (2003-to date)
Velvet Light Trap (2003-to date)