Skip to main content

Memorial Library Staff Information

Library Teams Organization

Management Group

  • Sherre Harrington
  • Jenny Kleine

3 Team Leaders:

  • Steve Head (User Services)
  • Jessica Hornbuckle (Technology, Systems & Discovery)
  • Cetoria Tomberlin (Collections)

Collections Team

  • Sherre Harrington
  • Steve Head
  • Jessica Hornbuckle
  • Som Linthicum
  • Amanda Mays-Chester
  • Dylan Moran
  • Michael O'Malley
  • Cetoria Tomberlin, team leader
  • Jeremy Worsham

Technology, Systems & Discovery Team

  • Jessica Hornbuckle, team leader
  • Jenny Kleine
  • Som Linthicum
  • Jeremy Worsham

User Services Team

  • Steve Head, team leader
  • Jessica Hornbuckle
  • Michelle Horton
  • Som Linthicum
  • Amanda Mays-Chester
  • AJ Pesce
  • Rebecca Roberts
  • Jeremy Worsham

Other Permanent Groups

Archives Advisory Group

‚ÄčThe Archives Advisory Group was convened to reconsider and re-conceptualize the vision and mission of the Archives. That work has successfully produced substantive revisions of both statements and rekindled efforts to refine a guiding portfolio for the Archives of documents such as a collection development, acquisitions, and deaccession policies.

Members: Steve Head, Jessica Hornbuckle, Som Linthicum, Michael O’Malley


Building Committee

Date Organized: 8/11/2014

Original Charge: Space planning, with a particular focus on the organization of the physical collection. A key issue is how best to respond to the growth of the circulating collection & the limited space available on the 2nd floor.  Many of us have had all kinds of conversations about what might make sense – do we move oversize materials, where best to locate the media collection, what will reference look like when the weeding is done, how best to use available space on the 1st floor, can we add shelving in certain locations to highlight areas of the collection & provide growth space … and so on. We need invest a group with responsibility for leading the discussion & making decisions about these issues & related space-use questions. And since they intersect the primary responsibility areas of Jenny (facilities), Som (user experience), and Cetoria (collection maintenance), they will form the committee, with Cetoria convening.

Members: Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Som Linthicum, Cetoria Tomberlin


Student Work Supervisors

Coordinate student work-related activities for Memorial Library.

Members: Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Amanda Mays, Michael O'Malley, Cetoria Tomberlin


Librarians Group

Discuss and coordinate matters related to professional librarian positions and responsibilities. Meets monthly. Facilitator through fall 2017 is Amanda Mays.

Members: Sarah Copeland, Sherre Harrington, Steve Head, Jessica Hornbuckle, Som Linthicum, Amanda Mays, Michael O'Malley, Rebecca Roberts, Jeremy Worsham

Public Programming Committee

The group is asked to complete the process in time for implementing any changes at the beginning of the fall 2017 semester.

Principles

Memorial Library’s public programing activities – exhibits, speakers, displays, readings, and other types of programs – are in general guided by the library’s Mission Statement, which states, in part:

Memorial Library strives to uphold the principles of academic freedom and encourages/fosters cultural diversity, creative expression, intellectual growth and a respect for the dialogue generated by differing points of view.

And the Institutional Effectiveness Plan:

Goal 2: Become the intellectual commons where users interact with ideas in both physical and virtual environments to expand learning and facilitate the creation of new knowledge.

  • Outcome: d) Develop both physical and virtual spaces that facilitate collaboration, learning, and the creation of new knowledge, and are an intellectual commons, providing access to programs, exhibits, lectures, and more.

Goal 5: Engage the campus and broader community through multiple strategies in order to advocate, educate, and promote the value of the library.

  • Outcome: a) Contribute to external relations through communications, publications, events, and donor cultivation and stewardship.

Public programming may also serve to promote access to and awareness of collections and services, as well as other goals of the library.

Charge

Develop a guiding document that expands on the library’s mission and goals for public programming, for discussion with the full library staff. Complete the process in time to implement any changes for the fall 2017 semester.

The Public Programming Committee is asked to consider the following questions:

  • How effective are Memorial Library’s programming efforts in respect to the existing goals? How do we evaluate programs? How should be evaluate programs? Are there basic guidelines or expectations that contribute to successful programs?
  • How should future programming efforts be directed? Should we continue the current practice of a kind of organic development of programming efforts or should there be a more intentional planning process? Management Group has discussed a model where an annual budget is set for programming, to be administered via a proposal process by the User Experience Librarian in collaboration with colleagues. Would this model work or would it be too bureaucratic for our organization? Would the advance planning necessary for this model too seriously inhibit creativity and our ability to respond to campus events, or would potential benefits outweigh its problems?
  • Is it possible to develop a more specific statement of purpose for the library’s public programming activities that can guide future decisions regarding programming content? Should programs sponsored by the library also have a mission of advancing student critical literacy competencies?
  • Will changes in the Cultural Events program at Berry effect the library’s programming?
  • Are the financial and staff resources we devote to programming appropriate? We are eager to have a robust programming presence, but there are many competing demands on our resources. Are there program efforts for which the expense (either monetary or staff) outweighs the benefit? How can program budgets be most fairly calculated? What is the appropriate budget for the library’s public programs?