A version of the Strategic Plan with comments & highlighting is attached in PDF format to ensure more or less consistency of formatting. Based on the comments submitted, the all staff discussion on April 9, 2009, will concentrate on four areas:
Using the Strategic Plan Version for Staff Final Review, which has been reformatted with each item numbered, review the Strategic Plan to identify items that fall into each of three categories:
Provide an explanation if you like, or just the item numbers. Email the information to me by 5pm on Friday, April 3. I'll consolidate & distribute the information in advance for a discussion meeting some time that week. Stay tuned for details about the meeting time & place.
Comments
The meeting was held at WinShape Center on April 9, 2009 and began at 1:35 pm and ended at 3:10 pm. In attendance were: Vivienne Durbin, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Laquieda Joiner, Jenny Kleine, Barbara Lowery, Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.
The meeting started with a discussion of centralized vs. distributed collections with the proposed incorporation of the Music Library and location of the Children's/Young Adult Collection in the Library.
The present location of the Music Library was described as lacking environmental controls and having limited hours of operation with a dated cataloging system. It was recognized that the Music Library is needed for study, as faculty and student use depend on music scores. It was advised that the Library present a plan to music faculty concerning the incorporation of the Music Library, which includes providing training and oversight of student workers. It is essential that the Library provide oversight regarding centralized collections in the form of service, access, and physical and environmental control.
The idea of "satellite" collections concerning children's/young adult materials, counseling center, and the psychology program brought forth issues of better collaboration and re-visiting the Library collection development plan. It was recognized that there must be an agreeable staffing approach to enabling access and use of these collections.
Also discussed was the role of the Archives in the Library with regards to future location and incorporation into a broader library program. The Archivist discussed how the Library provides the proper environment and support that is essential for the Archives to carry out its mission. User groups were identified as primarily involving administrators and alumni, but also students and outside researchers/students.
The next meeting was scheduled for Thursday, April 23, 2009 for which a time and place will be determined.
Sherre Harrington
Mar 24, 2009
At the Libraries Committee meeting today we decided that I will start the process of discussing the strategic plan with the faculty at the school meetings on Thursday, April 2. So that we can stick with the April 3 deadline for the staff final review, what I will present at those meetings will be an outline of the process & timeline we'd like to use and (I think) a slightly revised version of the executive summary. Stay tuned ...