Curriculum Materials Center
The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) is a cooperative effort of the Memorial Library and the Charter School of Education and Human Sciences. It houses a representative collection of curriculum-related material for grades K-12 and a collection of children’s and young adult literature.
News
Georgia History Festival
Every year the Georgia Historical Society develops curriculum materials for teachers of students at all grade levels that focus on the Georgia History Festival Honoree. These contain biographical information about the subject and historical information about the times in which that subject lived.
Click here for curriculum materials about 2012 Georgia History Festival Honoree, Juliette Gordon Low.
Curriculum Resources
Links to curriculum-related resources accessible via Memorial Library's Research Databases.
- Britannica Elementary Designed especially for intermediate readers at the elementary and early middle school levels.
- Britannica Learning Zone Designed specifically for PreK-2nd grade students. Students will find engaging and developmentally-appropriate activities including an interactive atlas, learning games, engaging audio and video, and effective vocabulary builders. Teaches concepts such as geography, time, shapes, numbers, and reinforces relevant vocabulary, all in a fun and safe online environment. There is also an area where students can demonstrate their creativity and practice what they have learned.
- Enciclopedia Juvenil Comprehensive reference resource for ages 6-12. The encyclopedia, with thousands of articles and images, is age-appropriate and includes a Spanish encyclopedia, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish Learning Materials specifically designed for younger students.
- Extended Play Video Collection access to full-length education videos on science, history, world studies, and the arts.
- Kids Search Provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search EBSCO databases.
- Kids.gov The official kids' portal for the U.S. government. It links to thousands of web pages from government agencies, schools, and educational organizations intended for kids and is grouped by grade level and subject.
- Middle Search Plus For middle school students. Full text from nearly 90 general, reference, health, and science publications.
- NoveList K-8 Readers' advisory tool for elementary and middle school students. Helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. Provides subject access to over 46,000 fiction titles and full-text book reviews or annotations from trusted sources. Also includes booktalks, picture book extenders, and Curricular Connections articles that will guide faculty to new titles and new ways for translating curriculum standards into classroom action.
- Searchasaurus: Middle Search Plus - (EBSCO/GALILEO)180 publications designed for middle school students.
- Searchasaurus: Primary/Elementary Search - (EBSCO/GALILEO)120 general publications designed for elementary school students
- SIRS Discoverer General reference resource for beginning learners and researchers in grades 1-9. Includes editorially-selected, full-text articles and images from over a thousand domestic and international newspapers, magazines, and government documents. also offers supplemental curriculum and learning materials, including an educator's guide, middle- and elementary-level student workbooks, citation guidelines, research strategy worksheets, and more through the Educator's Resources link.
- WGBH Teachers' Domain Multimedia resources that incorporate sound educational practices. Resources are classroom-ready and include images, video clips, and student activities. Resources are aligned to state standards. Free registration is required.
Curriculum Resources: Science and Math
Links to curriculum-related resources accessible via Memorial Library's Research Databases.
- Animal Kingdom Encyclopedia articles, images, and videos on topics related to animals and habitats. This resource is designed especially for intermediate readers at the elementary and early middle school levels. Learning materials and teacher's resources are included on the site.
- Extended Play Video Collection Full-length education videos on science, history, world studies, and the arts.
- National Science Digital Library: K-12 Teacher's Resources A guide to NSDL resources and information organized especially to fit the interests of teachers, media specialists, and others working with K-12 students. Includes subject guides or pathways and other resources selected particularly for K-12 audiences.
- NSDL Concept Map Tool Provides a way for teachers and students to connect NSDL resources with science and math concepts.
- PRISMS (Phenomena and Representations for the Instruction of Science in Middle Schools) Resources include pictures, video clips, graphs, simulations, and more for middle school teachers and students in the areas of biology, astronomy, ecology, and earth science.
- The Math Forum: Teacher's Place A collection of resources for teaching mathematics from preschool through graduate school. The Teacher's Place also includes the Math Forum Community and the Teacher Exchange to discuss and share materials as well as the Ask Dr. Math question and answer service and The Math Library.
- Wolfram Functions Site Formulas and visualizations of mathematical functions. An encyclopedic resource to the educational, mathematical, and scientific communities.

Loading...
