Skip to Main Content

Memorial Library Staff Information

Purchasing Cards

What you can use your purchasing card for?

Use of college purchasing cards for expenditures from the library's budget requires approval from Jenny Kleine and/or Sherre Harrington. Jenny oversees the budget for operational expenses such as supplies, equipment, furniture and professional expenses. Sherre oversees the budget for contractual services and for library materials such as books, periodicals and eresources. All contracts/licenses that commit library funds must initially be signed by Sherre and recorded in WMS License Manager.

Approval is already in place for these expenses:

  • Interlibrary loan materials: Cetoria Tomberlin
  • Library acquisitions: Laura Chapin
  • Professional development activities: all library staff members, up to  $2,000 per person for academic year 2022-2023
  • Programming-related expenses: Morgan Stansell, up to $2,000 for academic year 2022-2023
Enterprise spend platform

Expense approvals in the Enterprise spend platform are managed by Jenny for all library staff except Sherre and herself. Sherre manages Jenny's expenses and Cindy Womack manages Sherre's expenses.

Card holders are responsible for following college procedures regarding accounting for and coding expenses. Unless otherwise directed, all of your expenses will use this fund information, which is for the library's general allocation from the college. 

  • Fund=1
  • Restriction=1
  • Dept=93300

It is extremely important that the line item be coded correctly. The most frequently used line items are below. If you are in doubt about the line item, please check with Jenny or Sherre.

  • 9031=Supplies & expenses (technically, this should be for tangible items that are consumable)
  • 9032=Postage
  • 9033=Dues and subscriptions not related to the library collection
  • 9036=Periodicals for the library collection, regardless of format
  • 9044=Contractual services (contracts or licenses not directly related to library resources)
  • 9078=Print books for the library collection
  • 9109=Professional development expenses that don't fall under 9033, including all expenses related to professional travel (the college encourages use of the purchasing card rather that asking for reimbursement)
  • 9133=eBooks for the library collection
  • 9144=Databases for the library collection
  • 9151=Software

8/17/2022

Professional Development Funding

  • For the 2022-2023 academic year, full time library staff are allocated up to $2,000 each for professional development activities. Webinars, online conferences, etc. do not require additional approval.

Travel

Professional development that involves travel must be approved in advance by the Provost. Complete the Request for Professional Travel and Conference Funding form on the Provost's VikingWeb page. To be considered at work, and thus covered by worker’s compensation insurance during your travel, you must complete this form even if you do not plan to seek reimbursement of expenses. 

The Approval of Professional Travel form must be signed by the library director and the provost, so please allow at least one week for processing. The original travel form with signatures will be returned to you when the approval process is complete. 

8/17/2022

GALILEO Policies

Inclement Weather Policy

Because of the nature of the service Memorial Library provides, when students are resident on campus the Library's operating procedures during inclement weather may diverge from the college's inclement weather policy as stated in the Faculty/Staff Handbook and other documents. 

When a decision is made to close the college because of inclement weather:

  • If students are not in residence Memorial Library follows the college schedule.
  • If students are in residence, the goal is to remain open if possible. The Access Services Coordinator, the Director, and the Provost confer about staffing options. The Provost makes the final decision.

Any library staff who live on campus are expected to make every attempt to assist with maintaining library operations. Other staff members should report only when they feel that travel conditions are safe. 

November 24, 2014

Loading Dock Door

To allow staff access, deliveries, and Physical Plant access, when the campus is open the loading dock door should remain unlocked Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm.

11/11/2013

Publicity in Memorial Library

Any officially recognized Berry group, or any group holding an event or activity on the Berry campus, may place up to two posters in Memorial Library without approval, as long as the posters are placed on the bulletin boards near Java City. KCAB, the Writing Center, and Academic Support Center have pre-approval for placing publicity/informative materials in the lobby.

Placement of all other publicity, including posters, fliers, banners, or other objects in or on Memorial Library must be approved in advance. Contact Memorial Library Director Sherre Harrington, email sharrington@berry.edu; phone 706-236-2285.

 Areas of Memorial Library are often available for Berry-sponsored events and activities such as exhibits, meetings, and receptions. Contact Memorial Library Facilities Manager Jenny Kleine, email jkleine@berry.edu; phone 706-236-1740.

10/12/2016

 

Purchasing

Library materials are purchased through Acquisitions.

Other purchasing must be done in consultation with Jenny Kleine. Depending on the type and cost of the purchase, Jenny may need to consult with Purchasing. She is required to purchase computers, peripheral devices, and software through the Office for Information Technology.

Telephone Use

As with computers and email, reasonable personal use of Berry College's telephone service is permitted, provided that it does not interfere with work or educational performance. 

Berry uses Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) for long distance service, so there are no call-specific charges when dialing out by first dialing "9". Therefore Memorial Library staff are not expected to report or track telephone use. Library staff should be aware, however, that individual calls are logged and reported to the Office for Information Technology by the college's telephone service vendor.

10/6/2011

 

Work Orders for Building Problems

  • Report building problems to Jenny Kleine, who will place a work order with Physical Plant.
  • Exceptions are emergencies and situations where a time delay because of Jenny's absence (for vacation, for example) will cause significant inconvenience to library staff or users. When another staff member reports a problem, they should:
  • Notify Physical Plant: email physicalplant@berry.edu, phone 706-236-2231
  • When emailing, enter “Library Work Request” in the subject line and cc to the "Memorial Library Staff" distribution list
  • For telephone calls, follow up with an email to the "Memorial Library" distribution list
  • If you are aware of activity relating to Physical Plant, please let Jenny know. Physical Plant staff don't always remember to check in with her or let her know of the status of work orders.
  • Jenny will follow up on work orders and send updates as needed

Time Cards

Hourly Paid Staff

Time cards are due to be finalized by the employee by 1 pm on Monday of pay week, and approved by the supervisor by 10 am on Tuesday of pay week, unless we have a holiday.  The due dates in J1Web are later to allow for an occasional mistake/late finalization.  

Contacts:

  • Kelly HIndman, Payroll Payroll Manager, 706.238.7950, khindman@berry.edu
  • Cindy Gillespie