Memorial Library Staff Information

Present: Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Jenny Kleine, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Emily Thompson, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Patio furniture – Jeremy

• Jeremy distributed the patio furniture proposal, dated Nov. 3, 2009, from Office Creations, Inc. in Suwanee, GA
• Color samples of the tabletop, umbrella, and furniture were distributed
• Are the umbrellas able to be replaced?
• What is the warranty?
• Patio furniture is weather durable
• Sherre will communicate patio furniture into to the Provost and submit purchase order
• Look into Java City redesign – adding high tables and lighting and providing power sources for computers
• The loft-area will be redesigned
• Chairs which were relocated to the Java City area are being used
• What about providing recycling trash cans in the patio area?
• The total cost of the patio furniture is $22K

Holiday party (Dec. 4) – Michael

• The e-vites were sent to all student and staff members
• Cheryl is maintaining a list of main dishes and other food items, such as side dishes and desserts, which will be brought by confirmed attendees
• Based on the listing of confirmed attendees and the list of main and side dishes and desserts, other food items which are needed should be known by Tuesday, Dec. 1, which will help with party planning and provide advance shopping notice
• Tablecloths and festive plates will be used as to create a decorative atmosphere

FY 2011 budget update – Sherre

• The 10% budget cuts throughout all departments do not impact the Library since there is no savings due to the lack of offsetting costs
• The increase in the materials/supplies budget is to account for inflation
• The Instructional & Digital Services Librarian position will remain vacant
• Printing costs continue to escalate – $30-50K/year
• Tracking the number of copies will help with controlling print services

New business

• Ulrich’s periodicals directory renewal @$1,300/year; what are the online option costs?
• Section 504 Compliance Handbook monthly updates – cancelled

Announcements

• The E-communications office is working on a project profiling student work; a library student worker representative is needed to demonstrate job tasks; send a listing of students to Cheryl
• Jeremy and Sherre will represent the Library and attend December commencement

Present: Sherre Harrington, Jeremy Worsham, Maureen Morgan, Martha Reynolds, Xiaojing Zu, Cheryl Hawkins, Vivienne Durbin, Barbara Lowery, Judy Thompson, Laquieda Joiner

Cheryl Hawkins was staff meeting chair for this meeting.

• Harrington advised that electronic journals have changed since it was originally provided to the chairman. Originally, this is due to the fact that printing for the staff members has changed.
• Exploration of print management system. From the campus wide opinion, exploration will not really be pursued earlier than Fall of 2011.
• Pharos,the world’s largest vendor, is located in Australia. Pharos has a very good, effective wireless printing system
• There should not be any additional student costs.
• New committee (3-4 people) to meet and come back to the staff with some recommendations
• PS - will let us know
• SD - Maureen Morgan
• TS - Jeremy Worsham
• Adm - Sherre Harrington
• Aggregated Titles vs. Non-Aggregated Titles
• Graphic Novel Collections - Attempt is being pursued to get some of them and an ability to highlight them in certain public areas.
• Running out of space
• Some titles also in Oversized books
• Some titles also in Children’s literature
• Initially, people browse them and go outside to read.
• Space Committee to decide collections to develop.
• Need good growth space
• Christmas Party to be held on December 4, 2009 in the public services area.
• Announcements:
• CYA collection weeding by November 13, 2009
• Authority work, $1,200 maintenance costs approved by director
• Maureen Morgan said that a set of shelving has been taken out for the open area. She feels it has been a great improvement.
• New lighting is recommended for Java City area.
• Posted artwork, signs, etc. should be located at circ desk or in Java City area.

Present: Vivienne Durbin, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Jenny Kleine, Barbara Lowery, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Announcements

• Georgia Council of Media Organizations (GaCOMO) conference raffle prize submitted by the Library, a gift bag consisting of:tote bags, a pen, key tag, water bottle, and a flash drive
• Judy Thompson has been designated as a coordinator of exhibits in the Library
• The Technical Services department will have furniture and work stations installed on Thursday, Oct. 8
• The shelving installation has been completed in the Archives, materials are being placed onto shelves; Russ Evans (56C) and other members of the class of 1956 who helped fund the installation as their class gift, plan to visit the Archives next Wednesday, Oct. 14.
• The Space Committee is working with Office Creations of Sewanne, GA to design the front of the library (around the steps). As of right now, the design will consist of patio tables w/ umbrellas and chairs.
• The Physical Plant will remove the shelving from current displays early next week (Monday-Tuesday) to make room for the placement of new tables & chairs, popular titles, and the Center for Teaching Excellence collection

Community patrons

• Bobby Abrams, Chief of Campus Safety, has been thinking about restricting non-Berry community campus access since there is a possibility that visitors who state that they are visiting the Library, could potentially access other campus areas and facilities after normal workday operating hours
• This idea seems difficult to implement since the Library also serves patrons outside the Berry community; how do other campus events impact accessibility of the campus?
• Will asking visitors to provide proper identification and note car license plates be a sufficient security measure?

Strategic plan – next steps

• Sherre reviewed and will make available 82 action plan items for the staff to address for updating the plan
• The plan needs strategic “direction”
• Sherre noted that items which have already been enacted will be removed from the plan
• Past staff members’ involvement with strategic planning was determined
• A core group of librarians consisting of Sherre, Martha, Xiaojing, and Michael will be part of a discussion group which will meet with faculty and solicit input for updating the strategic plan; other staff members will be encouraged to attend group meetings to provide additional input
• Input from a representative group of students will also be solicited
• Library liaison listings will be updated to include Sherre and Michael
• Meetings will be recorded by Library staff to ensure accuracy of discussion points
• Identifying certain hours and days of the week will be determined for scheduling future meetings

Time of Goodwill

• Jenny Kleine was recognized for her excellent, selfless service coordinating book orders and assisting with setting up for the Southern Women Writer’s Conference

Present: Vivienne Durbin, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Jenny Kleine, Barbara Lowery, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Faculty/staff picks for pop titles or collection – Judy

• The question was raised – how are picks presently done? Frequency?
• Suggestion to solicit recommendations from students, faculty, and staff; not suggestions on a clipboard – until December 2009

Library materials budget allocation discussion – Sherre

• Sherre created a document which provided background information, “Allocating the Library Materials Budget”

• Should materials budget be allocated by subject as opposed to school?
• Collection development process is used to establish a framework/proportion of how to expend resources that is systematic & intentional
• Sherre created 3 sets of budgets which show the allocation by subject groups, departments, and schools
• It was noted that the current method of budget allocation by subject is comparable to allocation by departments
• How would one make a case for allocating materials by schools? It was noted that different schools have different needs
• The Library will continue to allocate materials based on schools which is fits with the holistic viewpoint of the strategic plan
• Book acquisitions by discipline will be researched for future budget comparison

Announcements

• Archives shelving project – the carpet tiles have been installed and supplies for shelving installation will be transported to the Archives for staging purposes; the shelving will be installed during the week of Sept. 21-25, 2009
• The current periodical area will be shifted and relabeled; furniture vendors will visit the Library to provide ideas concerning the appropriate future that will be used for the new space created by the movement of current periodicals
• The technical services area will have new carpet and office furniture installed
• Cheryl, Martha, Vivienne, Xiaojing received good feedback from their student assistant evaluations
• Comment re: Requirements for Student Workers to Drive Berry-owned Vehicles (from e-newsletter to student work supervisors) – student should not be driving privately-owned vehicles to conduct Berry business. The Library will explore the use of an appropriately-sized vehicle which will enable students to perform their work-related duties.

Reference update (Judy)

• Information desk staffed to provide service for the start of classes

Archives (Michael)

• Shelving installation – the raised floor and rails have been installed, the next phase is the selection and installation of the floor covering/decking
• Archives students have been familiarizing themselves with the collections and various operational procedures and providing reference assistance
• Laptop computer #10, borrowed from circulation for use as an extra student work computer, has been returned. Student workers have been asked to bring in personal laptops for work purposes.

Public Services update (Martha)

• BCC Orientations - Aug. 28-Sep. 30, Sherre will observe sessions conducted by members of the College administration
• Technical issues – a list of equipment to be repaired/replaced has been sent to Computing & Technology
• Reference assistance is needed for scheduled shifts and on-call hours

Inter-Library Loan (Xiaojing)

• Training students in ILL procedures
• BCC class instruction

Technical Services (Jeremy)

• Weeding the children’s collection – materials which have not been checked out for more than 10 years will be removed from the collection; all titles will be reviewed by Ruth Ference, library staff will then review selected titles for weeding
• Wireless barcode readers are in use
• Also in use is CoLibri, an automated book covering system which requires no adhesive and is a simple process which takes less than 30 seconds. Special polyethylene covers protect all edges and can be removed or replaced without damaging the endsheet of the book, the book cover or the dust jacket. The book cover is completely encapsulated and protected. Thoughts are to possibly add this service as part of the Student Enterprise business operations.

Serials & Documents (Maureen)

• Electronic journals – updating info in EBSCO Host Electronic Journals Service

• Shifting display area to create a study environment with tables & chairs

• Reviewing the periodical directory – identify titles for binding shipments, JSTOR titles are not to be bound

• Microfilm materials to be put in storage – Mathematical Review and Dissertation Abstracts

• If both print and electronic formats exist for the same title, then the preference is for materials in electronic format. A listing of online titles will be reviewed for selection as well as ensuring that there will be archival access to full content materials.

• LYRASIS database review of Cambridge Histories Online for possible purchase

Administration (Sherre)

• Database licensing information should be reviewed to permit walk-in patron and ILL patron use
• Computer replacement – funding requests by the quarter in order of priority:

  1. Laptops

  2. OPACs

  3. Remainder of computers

Center for Teaching Excellence (Mary Clement) would like to have the library include space for a small browsing collection consisting of 80-90 books.

A suggestion to have library staff meetings twice monthly, instead of separate librarians and staff meetings was agreed upon. This would be a more efficient use of meeting time to accomplish future work involving the strategic plan, establishing an information commons, and the library’s catalog.

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, Sept. 16 at 3 pm in the Technical Services area.

Present: Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

GLA/COMO convention (Columbus, GA), Oct. 7-9, 2009; advance registration available

Electronic resources –

• A-Z Maps Online: map database consisting of world, continent, country, and state maps as well as games, images, and puzzles
• Road Warrior: database of comprehensive cultural, business, and travel information

Banned Books Week, Sept. 26-Oct. 3, 2009

• Although recognized, the Library will not be participating in the current Banned Books Week; the Library produced a Banned Books exhibit in spring 2009 (“Stop the Presses”) in conjunction with Liberty Tree Week

Clarification of Privacy and Food and Drink policies

• Copies of policies were made available for meeting review
• The policy concerning confidentiality of library records will be distributed and discussed during the Library student worker orientation session (Aug. 23, 2009), which will include procedures for responding to law enforcement requests
• The Food & Drink policy seems unclear to Library patrons; the policy will be re-written from the perspective of communicating responsibilities associated with having food and beverages in the Library
• Sherre will also review the Food & Drink policy with Provost Katherine Whatley

Announcements:

• “Browse carts” have been added to the second floor for materials that need to be re-shelved
• Records maintained by the Library containing patron information will be subject to a future privacy audit (the Library is no longer collecting student identification or Social Security numbers
• The Library is looking at the example of Macalester College selecting WorldCat Local as its discovery-to-delivery library service

Present: Sherre Harrington, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Announcements:

• Contact Aaron Jermundson concerning a replacement bulb for the classroom projector.
• Sherre will contact Physical Plant about replacement ceiling tiles from a previous leak.
• Technical Services department will have new office systmes furniture installed for the fall semester.
• Sherre will solicit input regarding a case study of the Academic Commons project for the library which will be part of the next capital campaign.
• There was a roof leak in the lobby above OPAC terminals 1 and 2 on Tuesday afternoon., Aug. 4. Equipment and furniture have been moved and covered. Sherre will remain in contact with Physical Plant to ensure that further leaks do not occur since this water event was directly related to the roofing project.
• A library visit is scheduled for Friday, Aug. 21 for freshman orientation from 2:30-3:15; this will be an abbreviated version of BCC099.

New Faculty Orientation

• New faculty will meet with library staff and Sherre will conduct a group tour of the library (Monday, Aug. 17, 1:45 pm)
• New faculty packets will be revised for distribution to faculty members
• The library liaisons will be reviewed for possible assignment modifications
• Beverages will be provided

New Circulation Fines/Fees Policies (Progress Report)

• Need to devise a form for Laptop computer checkout
• Still reviewing fines/fees policy for community patrons
• Using e-mail to generate communcation with students (scheduled for fall semester)
• Mentioning to the student body and campus-wide that the library is adopting a policy of "community responsibility" in eliminating overdue fees

Catalog Records for e-books

• need to avoid duplication of effort and have Serial Solutions manage the records whereby links direct the user to the electronic resources.
• links may be replaced in the note field in the catalog record
• would like to avoid a cumbersome work effort to direct patrons to electronic resources through having to update each individual record
• journal records also need to be update with references to the electronic resource
• Serial Solutions will be contacted to check into faciltating links to electronic resources

Present: Sherre Harrington, Jenny Kleine, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

The meeting began with a discussion, led by Jenny Kleine, that the library has invoices totaling $5,838.35 which need to be paid. There was clarification among librarians and it was agreed that Jenny would follow up with payment by the end of July.

Sherre made an announcement concerning library student worker training/orientation planned for Sun., Aug. 23 from 3-5:30 pm. Training/orientation items mentioned were staff/student introductions, privacy/confidentiality lecture & signed agreements, videos, scavenger hunt, separate departmental training/orientation, and a pizza dinner. Details will be discussed in a separate meeting of the Student Work Committee scheduled for July 30.

Maureen led a discussion and distributed a handout concerning the selection of standing orders of print titles for cancellation. The list of print titles was reviewed and it was determined that Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, Newsmakers, andStatistics Sources will be cancelled. There was an issue about future accessibility of titles; print titles which are available online will be cancelled. Print titles need to be examined to ensure accessibility thru either a more direct electronic subscription or using other databases. It was mentioned that Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences should also be reviewed for possible cancellation.

Maureen received confirmation to discard 6 print periodical titles: Modern Maturity, Molding Systems, New Choices – Retirement Living, New Choices – Best Years, New Choices – Living Better After 50, and Plastics World. Issues of New York Magazine will be evaluated for discard.

FYI – Congressional Committee hearings are accessible online instead of using microfiche.

Maureen mentioned that there has been a change in workflow concerning microfilm; the supplier periodically sends microfilmed titles to the library and will also send filmed titles for the entire year. Paper copies of titles will remain on the shelf, while the periodic shipments of microfilm will be set aside until the filmed titles are shipped for the entire year.

Maureen announced that recently, articles have been removed from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the Rome News-Tribune. In an effort to temporarily monitor the situation, patrons will have to check-out these newspapers from the circulation desk.

Jeremy distributed copies of the Gift-in-Kind form and policy. It was addressed that separate forms and procedures need to be created for bookplates.

Announcements:

The curriculum materials that were weeded in preparation to move the children’s collection to the Cook building was recently received from Cook and will be distributed to Better World Books.

“Index tables” is now one location in the library OPAC. Previously there were multiple Index Table locations.

Jeremy distributed the results from the shelf-space study. The results were shown as bar graphs for 6 ranges and pie charts showing available shelf space for government documents, children’s books, reference, bound periodicals, circulating collection, and total library space. Jeremy was recognized for his good work and for the amount of time and effort required to complete such an onerous task. The shelf space study graphs and charts will be made available on the library computer network and on the library staff wiki site.

As an outgrowth of the shelf space study, it was mentioned that future shelf reading would be easier using hand-held barcode scanners which would identify misplaced materials by title and call number.

Update:

Movable shelving installation in the Archives – the collections have been moved to the storage room; additional storage space in the library is not needed. The Archives student staff has been able to re-locate the collections without additional help from other library student workers. A formal announcement has been put on the library’s webpage to alert patrons of possible delays for materials retrieval. The raised floor and the rails will be installed during the week of Aug. 17. The shelves will be installed during the week of September 7.

The next meeting is scheduled for August 5 at 2 pm.

Present: Vivienne Durbin, Marla Gilreath (Instructional Technologist), Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Laquieda Joiner, Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

This library staff meeting was held in conjunction with the Space & Environment Committee to discuss its summer 2009 proposal.

2. Space and Environment Committee - Summer 2009 proposal (Jeremy - presentation)

Sherre discussed that the library is considering migrating away from Voyager and will be using World-Cat Local as an OPAC and intergrated library system. In the future all staff are encouraged to use and test World-Cat Local.

Space and Environment Committee - Summer 2009 proposal presentation -- Jeremy

• "Crossroads of Learning" handout was distributed (Strategy 3: expand learning spaces outside the library; getting more students/faculty into the library by creating a second entrance)
• Five areas of interest were identified for designing learning spaces, see minutes from the Space and Environment Committee meeting on April 9, 2009 for specific areas.
• Discussed how changes to the outdoor environment would benefit the library in terms of designing learning spaces (acquisition and placement of furniture: picnic tables, umbrella tables, Adirondack chairs, and hammocks). Must consider the placement of furniture outside of the library (aesthetics) with college administration and Java City. The changes for designing learning spaces will simultaneously occur inside, as well as, outside the library. The learning spaces design changes to the exterior of the library will start from the front and work towards the rear of the building. It is important to have visible representation of the outside the learning space environment design to show various college administrators.

Present: Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

• Periodical Invoice- Maureen Morgan printed subscription, title cancelations, received microfilm invoice; possibility of switching print to online subscriptions, review "Travel" titles in storage area.
• DVD security system- New storage system tested okay, pricing is 30-40 cents each ($2500 total for retrospective conversion). Review circulation policy changes, will put DVDs in cases together in open collection, to be evaluated at end of fall semester (2009).

• Departmental Updates:
• Circulation- aim to streamline processes and determine how users use collections. Eliminate overdue fines, but not lost book fees. Scheduled OCLC representative visit (Danny Overstreet) to discuss World-Cat local. Future collaboration with Multicultural Studies department (Cory Posey). Instituting a "library" presence on VikingWeb.
• Archives - Installation of movable shelving - waiting for recalculation of proposal from vendor, processing photographs from the Athletic Department, scanning meterials for Music Department history book project, indexing student newspapers, researching infromation for new exhibit (Fall 2009) - the "hands" installment of the "Head, Heart, and Hands" exhibit.
• Serials- Due to the absence of staff, delegating project work to student. Creating a document exchange list, inventoring periodicals by call numbers (subject lists), reviewing serials (determining the approximate number of volumes and reels, identifying titles in JSTOR & Project Muse in microfilm and print).
• Staffing and Administration- The need for a fill-in secretary, circulation materials project, student work group- determining student worker orientation guidelines. Departmental annual reports due June 12. Emergency policies/procedures- campus weather radio. Allocating departmental funds.
• Technical Services- shelf-space study (determining availability for collections expansion). Acquire award-winning books for childrens/young adult reading section. Determining guidelines for inclusion of materials in the reference collection. Making customization changes in World-Cat (view-find interface is not supported).
• Interlibrary Loan (ILL)- Determining procedures for training student workers and statistical usage patterns, upgrading ILL software, determing materials usage policies, updating ILL webpages, updating ILL and circulation training materials/procedures, testing the new scanner.

Present: Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, and Jeremy Worsham.

Budget update - funds are available to purchase a scanner for ILL use. Instead for purchasing a DVD storage cabinet, sample tattle-tape will be used for the DVD collection. The agenda for the next meeting will address funds for book purchases and 4 scanners (2 for Tech. Services and 2 for Serials). Another agenda item for the next meeting will be reviewing selections for academic department periodical subscriptions.

Archives movable shelving update - Microforms subscriptions - The list of database microfilm titles was reviewed and the subscription cost was reduced from $10,327.70 to $9,648.98. Questions were raised regarding licensing rights and future accessibility of previously owned content. Cancel subscriptions for which future microfilm purchases are possible and consider electronic access options. Cancel JSTOR titles and subscriptions such as Project Muse, Wiley, and Bio-One, where other formats are available.

Announcements - future information will be available regarding the electronic recycling program

Present: Vivienne Durbin, Cheryl Hawkins, Sherre Harrington, Laquieda Joiner, Jenny Kleine, Barbara Lowery, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

• Security code system training was suggested; this will be coordinated with Steve Hatfield from the Physical Plant.
• Work Schedule Guidelines:
• An explanation of exempt and non-exempt staff was mentioned relating to work scheduling and flexibility. It was suggested that a meeting with all library department heads (Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Martha Reynolds, and Jeremy Worsham) to insure scheduling equality among staff members.
• Compensatory time was defined as receiving time and a half pay or time off for non-exempt employees working more than 40 hours a week.
• Overtime situations, which are dictated by work circumstances, for non-exempt staff should be avoided.
• Half-day Friday scheduling issues were discussed relating to scheduling flexibility within departments. Staff members are entitled to half-day Friday benefits understanding that library operations should continue without schedule disruptions.
• Attendance must correspond with actual time worked for non-exempt staff.
• Travel authorization forms should be completed in advance.
• A regular notification schedule will be established for supply purchases.
• Building Emergency Action Plan (BEAP) –
• A draft of the plan was reviewed, discussed, and updated. An “earthquake” scenario needs to be added to the plan. Specific sections such as, building evacuation and fire alarm operation, will be tested and coordinated with campus police in early August 2009. Final drafts of the plan will be distributed to staff members in the future.

Present: Sherre Harington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, and Xiaojing Zu.

Serials: Subscription renewals – EBSCO payment is due in July. Changes in subscriptions will be made in Sept./Oct. with final payment due in Oct.

National Archive Publishing Company microfilm renewal in June. Print publications are retained on microfilm (primarily non-illustrated titles). Title list includes: ACS, Wiley, Project Muse, JSTOR, Psych., and Comm. Usage statistics can be accessed since 1999. The preference is for online science titles.

Archives installation of movable shelving – Requires 6 weeks advance notice and will take about 10 days to install (during late June and into July). Discussed using the classroom and interior storage room for temporary storage of materials during installation. Martha Reynolds has agreed to make the classroom available for temporary storage and stressed that advance notice will help determine feasibility of using classroom space. Need to discuss with Physical Plant the disposal of old library shelving and mention that loading dock and dumpster access is required for installation work.

Updating the Disaster Plan –

• Departments have previously reviewed and updated collections priorities
• Existing copies of the latest version of the plan will be reviewed and discussed during the next meeting.

The next meeting is scheduled for May 20, 2009 at 2 pm.

Present: Vivienne Durbin, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Laquieda Joyner, Jenny Kleine, Barbara Lowery, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, Xiaojing Zu.

The purpose was to discuss and identify actions to achieve goals stated as part of the strategic direction concerning staffing in the Strategic Plan.

It was agreed that the following goals remain in the Strategic Plan:

• #25 – Cultivation of a positive & enriching work environment in which professional growth & personal development are valued.
• #27 – Improve communication, enhance productivity and utilize the strengths of staff
• #28 – Foster more library staff interaction with the Berry community, enhance the visibility of librarians as educators and ensure involvement in discussions of curricular and IT issues.

Changes to the Strategic Plan include:

• Action Plan #29b. – privacy refers to situations & issues involving confidentiality. Incorporate with Action plan #25.
• Action Plan #25 – removed “provide additional budgetary support” since it is understood that the library already funds and supports professional growth and personal development.

The following ideas aid in identifying actions to achieve goals in the Strategic Plan include: flexible work scheduling, enhance existing office space configuration, and job description and workflow analysis.

The next meeting was tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 10 am in the classroom.

Present: Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Library spending procedures specify that Laquieda Joiner (Secretary) should be notified for expenses involving supplies, equipment, and travel. Notify Jenny Kleine (Technical Services) and Maureen Morgan (Serials & Documents) for books and serials purchases, respectively.
Separate space and climate controls exist in the Cook Building to house the Children's Collection. Future collaboration is possible with the Charter School of Education and Human Sciences to include: Lynnwood Belvin, Julie Johnson-Pynn, Leslie Marlow Inman, and Amber Prince, regarding library services. Jackie McDowell, Dean of the Charter School, can offer a summer stipend for future work. Library staff could be responsible for training and supervision of staff. There is the possibility of acquiring external funding as long as there is a clearly stated purpose of the collection. Jeremy, Martha, and Sherre will review the collection development policy using ACRL standards and best practices. The children's collection scope must be defined and the existing collection must be weeded; journals could also be added to the Children's collection.

Curriculum Amendment forms provide information regarding course descriptions which are used to determine appropriate library resources. Library liaisons, who work with professors in an effort to provide course support, discuss with each department recommendations of library resources.

Spring 2009 Commencement attendees will be: Sherre Harrington, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, and Xiaojing Zu. The Library will be open from 1-5 pm during the Commencement. Aramark will be contacted regarding if Java City will be open for beverage sales.

Announcements:

• The Library Space Committee wiki is under development.
• The next Library Web Committee meeting will be Friday, April 17 in the Serials and Documents Dept.
• The next Library Student Work Committee meeting will be on Monday, May 11 at 1 pm in the conference room to discuss planning for a library "Student Training Day" for the Fall 2009 semester.
• Sherre Harrington mentioned that she would provide RSS feed instructions on the Library wiki.

Tentatively scheduled, is the next all-staff meeting for Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 11 am to discuss internal staffing issues.

Present: Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu. The meeting was conducted by Judy Thompson.

1. Newsbank microfiche located in storage – Maureen Morgan
   To be deaccessioned and the cabinet will be used for document CD-ROMs
2. Gale reference books shift – Judy Thompson
   Determine how much material to leave on shelves since space is an issue; also, consider that students prefer online use for some materials
   20th Century Literary Criticism should remain on the shelves
   Materials taken off shelves can be placed in storage area
   Consider future donations made to schools
3. Memorial Library Budget Proposal – Sherre Harrington
   Staff proposal – to proceed with filling the Instruction/Web Services position
4. Operations Budget
   The Operations Budget was examined using general groupings which involve items of an important/immediate need, a secondary need, and those that would need additional funding
   Sherre viewed the budget as having 5 category types: Programming, Staff Resources, Staff Hardware, Space, and User Hardware
   Cost rationale was discussed for a faculty workshop, ARES – e-reserves, and an integrated services desk, which will be funded as a separate project
   4 barcode scanners will be purchased – 2 for Technical Services & 2 for Serials
   Arrangement of budgeting priorities:

• Replacing high-speed printers in microforms room
• Replacing end-of-range labeling system
• Purchasing 5 Mac workstations
• Purchasing 4 laptop computers
• Purchasing a 20-bay laptop storage cabinet & additional DVD storage cabinets
• Purchasing a scanner for ILL
• Purchasing a fax machine &scanner for Public Services
• Purchasing digital camera and a camcorder for circulation
• Installing a DSL account/phone line for the instructor’s workstation in the classroom

The following items will be budgeted for the remainder of FY 2008-2009:

• Replacing high-speed printers in microforms room
• Purchasing a Sony E-book reader
• Replacing end-of-range labeling system
• Purchasing a scanner for ILL

Sherre will add subtotals and item categories to the budget

Pressent: Sherre Harrington, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, and Jeremy Worsham. The meeting was conducted by Jeremy Worsham.

 2010 Budget Process -- Sherre explained how the 2010 (flat) budget is conceived

• Re: salaries & raises – equity issues are considered
• Comparing comparable positions within the library and College and aspirant/peer institutions
• Library departments will determine resource needs and identify new projects with student hours and responsibilities
• Departmental proposals are due March 28 and will be reviewed and discussed during the April 1 Librarians’ meeting
• The library budget for 2010 will be developed as a result of the April 1 meeting and submitted to the Provost by April 10
• The budget was reviewed to discuss the impact of flat funding relative to our mission. The library collections need to grow and flat funding is a decrease in funds which makes it difficult to grow the collections
• The cost of cloth vs. paper books was discussed; from a preservation perspective, the library preference has been to purchase cloth books

 Strategic Plan: 2007-2012

• Important to include the interests of the faculty
• Sherre will review the Plan and summarize items
• Discussed a plan of action for library staff review of the Strategic Plan

Recreational Use of Collection

• Define collecting scope involving popular titles, award-winning movies (including foreign films), and audio books

Present: Sherre Harrington, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

Discussed protocol for future meetings:

• Frequency, day, and time of meetings:  
• Librarians’ meetings held every other week (1^st & 3^rd Wed. @ 2pm)
•  All-staff meetings held once a month (4^th Wed. @ 2pm)
• Librarians’ meetings will call for rotating staff members who will be responsible for facilitating/conducting the meetings and assembling agenda items. Rotating staff members (in order): Jeremy Worsham, Judy Thompson, Martha Reynolds, Maureen Morgan, Sherre Harrington, Xiaojing Zu
• Michael O’Malley agreed to continue to take minutes for Librarians’ meetings.
• Library Director, Sherre Harrington, will be responsible for facilitating and assembling agenda items for all-staff meetings
• Meetings will start on-time
• Respectful dissention will be encouraged which will allow for an exchange of other points of view/opinions with no repercussion from those who disagree with one another
• Meeting duration: 60 min – no more than 90 min, breaks will be considered
• Be mindful of sensitive & confidential information; it is also important to understand how information is presented during the meeting so that it is not misinterpreted outside of the meeting environment
• The facilitator chooses meeting locations
• Meeting attendees are encouraged to be comfortable
• Invite the Provost to meet with librarians group
• All-staff meetings will include departmental reports
• Announcements are encouraged at all meetings
• A “Time of Goodwill” allows for further discussion and additional exchange of information among meeting attendees and participants   

Questions and Clarifications Concerning Library Procedures

• Discussion of network use & access
• Purchase orders – verify dept head authorization with the Director
• Vacation & scheduling procedures – use MS Outlook calendar function as a means of communication
• Librarians are entrusted with decision-making responsibilities

Present: Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Rebecca Roberts, Judy Thompson, Jeremy Worsham, and Xiaojing Zu.

PrinterOn update:  Need to decide where to locate wireless printing equipment and who will be responsible for support/maintenance

Instructional Services candidate search update: 

• The position has not been filled due to a campus-wide reduction in hiring
• Greta Boers is still in contention for the position
• Janet Webb is a potential future candidate to be interviewed

Book Plate design:

• Design submitted by Leah Stepp; sample design attached
• Add “Collection” to the title – Children’s Young Adult Collection

Evaluations:

• New forms have been created; need to add a section for Professional Development/Service Performance
• Evaluations due by Feb. 16 and will be reviewed and discussed
• Summary evaluations will be written and discussed

Budget update: Reviewed Library budget

Web of Science presentation:

• Location: Downtown Rome, Heritage Hall, Date: Feb. 24, 2009,
• Time: 10am, Presenter: Julie Mallin