The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:33 pm and ended at 3:15 pm. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Somervell Linthicum, Amanda Mays, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
· Announcements
· Special budget proposals (Sherre)
· Committee responsibilities/membership (from last meeting) (Sherre)
· Catalog locations for WMS update (Jeremy)
· Building needs (Jenny)
· Time for goodwill
Announcements
· The Space Committee will install new research table and chairs in the Archives Reading Room. The committee will decide where to place the 3 round tables from the Archives to other places in the library
· Please test new library and carrel chairs for library purchase (see Jenny’s May 3 e-mail)
· Please sign up for SOAR sessions. There are a total of 5 sessions, staff should sign up for 1 session each
Special budget proposals
· Special budget proposals were reviewed (see Sherre’s May 21 e-mails, with attached proposals). A range of $29-$38K total available funds are available, not including the
3-D printer.
· Library scanners are requested to meet the increased demand for access to information thru the many different types of requests. Scanner locations need to be determined. There is the ability to scan to an iPad using the Scannx Scan Center workstation.
· Library’s webpage – consulting advice for webpage design
· Library colloquium series – programming as part of the Institutional Effectiveness Plan to include faculty events and special topics speakers. The library can pursue external funding sources to supplement the colloquium series.
· Additional funding from IT will be available for lending technologies – laptop computers
· Sherre will review proposal options with Jenny that include: colloquium series, patron technical services (scanners), staff support, and collection services.
Committee responsibilities/membership
· Library committee membership will remain the same for the 2013-2014 AY
· Michelle Horton is the new chair of the student work committee
Catalog locations for WMS update
· Consider what is meaningful to our patrons – students, faculty, staff
· Determine WMS location terminology for the circulating collection, floor designation, main or central library. Jenny will order signage.
Building needs
· The library carpet will be cleaned
The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:31 pm and ended at 3:02 pm. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Somervell Linthicum, Amanda Mays, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
· Announcements
· Library Committees – activities, summer plans, membership
· President’s Advisory Committee (PAC) report (Sherre)
Announcements
· Weeding nursing titles – future project with faculty involvement
Library Committees
· Library assessment will be the focus of a future committee; the external review recommended that the library conduct assessment of its services
· Web interfaces group will continue with OCLC Worldshare Management Services implementation; May 15 Springshare discussion on how to maximize the use of LibGuides and how it fits into the library and college webpages
· Space committee is pursuing patron space usage monitoring – examining where and when space is utilized by patrons
· Student Work Committee – determine student work experience and training expectations from College strategic plan
President’s Advisory Committee (PAC) report
· Reviewed the college’s strategic plan goals & objectives and how the library can help to ensure graduating students complete powerful learning experiences (PLEs) – such as with library collection development and instructional services
· Reviewed Goal 1, Objective 4 – student “life-ready” experiences and implementing new programs of study – nursing and museum studies; Objective 11 – integrating technology into the liberal arts experience in ways that enhance learning – experimenting with technology
· Reviewed Goal II – the college’s commitment to student body diversity
· Reviewed Goal V, Objective 1 – achieving greater visibility for targeted educational and cultural activities – Martha Berry Digital Archive (MBDA) project and supporting the promotion of the college’s distinctive heritage and historical sites; explore cultural heritage ventures/partnerships
The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:31 pm and ended at 2:27 pm. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Somervell Linthicum, Amanda Mays, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
Announcements
Recycling Pickup
Project Updates
The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:32 pm and ended at 2:29 pm. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Somervell Linthicum, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, and Jeremy Worsham.
Agenda
· Announcements
· Student Work Committee Update (Cheryl)
· Budget Proposals (Sherre)
· Institutional Effectiveness Plan (Sherre)
Announcements
· Please e-mail Jenny before the end of this week (Fri., March 22) for supply orders.
· The Martha Berry Digital Archive website located at http://www.marthaberry.org Various documents are available for review; thousands of documents have been scanned covering the period from 1926-1930; scan-on-demand protocols have been created that enable the Archives to accommodate reference requests as the MBDA project continues; the project will also encourage broader participation from anyone who wishes to contribute editorial information thru an editor registration; the project will be added and made accessible thru the Digital Library of Georgia; Stephanie Schlitz, the Project Director, is arranging for an on-site visit on April 7-8.
Student Work Committee Update
· The tentatively scheduled workshop for March 21, “Library – Behind the Scenes” has been postponed for additional staff time needed to work with newer technologies introduced to the Library in order to design and incorporate the use of technology as part of the workshop content; additional archived workshops will be added to VikingWeb for training options – students will be able to register for online training options and utilize a screen-shot printout as proof of completion of a training module
· A Library party is scheduled for Fri., April 19, from 6-7:30 pm
· Each department will receive funds to be used for student activities; budgeted funds will be determined according to the amount of student worker staff in each department; these funds will be for the remainder of this fiscal year and into the next fiscal year (FY 2013-2014)
Budget Planning Ideas (fiscal year 2013-2014)
· The operations budget ideas are for 2 categories – up to $2,000 and up to $5,000
· Budget ideas can include, for example, various staff, patron, department, committee, workgroup needs; proposals should cite some aspect of the library's focus areas in the Institutional Effectiveness Plan as the foundation for being funded
· Ideas can be submitted to Sherre by Wed., May 15 at 9 am, to be discussed at the May 21 staff meeting
Institutional Effectiveness Plan (2012-2013)
· Reviewed information sent from Sherre’s e-mail (March 14) that summarized the activity concerning the Plan
· Reviewed the post-meeting version of the Plan from Dec. 6, 2012 to finalize the content – it was agreed that no other changes/revisions are necessary; final version of the 2012-2013 Plan will be posted on the LibGuides "Assessment" tab under "Institutional Effectivenss Plans"
· Future planning is necessary for the Effectiveness Plan (2013-2014) towards the end of June 2012; it was suggested that the information from each department’s annual report would a valuable tool that can be used for future Plans
The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:32 and ended at 2:28. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Somervell Linthicum, Amanda Mays, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
· Announcements
· Student Work Committee Update (Cheryl)
· Library Committee Memberships (Sherre)
· External Review – Emerging Technologies and Professional Development (Sherre)
Announcements – None
Student Work Committee Update
· Discussed prior workshops; asked about ideas for future workshops (including online options) and tracking and enforcing workshop attendance
· Planning for March 21 (tentative) workshop – “Library – Behind the Scenes;” how to incorporate the use of technology to facilitate this workshop; the Committee will e-mail staff to solicit information about different job functions/tasks and work environments (What types of work do people encounter? What are typical user services? What are the value-added aspects of library work?)
· Discussed how iPads can be incorporated into future workshops
Library Committee Membership Assignments
· Amanda and Som have joined the Library Space and Environment Committee
External Review – Emerging Technologies and Professional Development
· Some examples of prior usage of technology were discussed including: laptops, Kindles, and iPads
· It was suggested that emerging technology is an opportunity to experiment with and discover potential usage for library applications
· The idea of the virtual desktop was discussed which involves future collaboration with the Office for Information Technology
· There was discussion of how one could benefit by the use of technology while attending conferences – note-taking, access to e-mail and the Internet, portability, sharing photographs, and video-conferencing
· An observation was made about iPads – planned, long-term use of technology avoids future pitfalls of dependence on technology which is based on current trends/fads
· The use of technology can be more beneficial if individuals make a conscious decision concerning its use
· It helps to be mindful of the fact that the use of technology is not always beneficial; a good balance is a mix of technology as necessary
· Think of how technology can be utilized in relation to various library job tasks within each department
· Think of how to use professional development/training in ways that are NOT being currently used
The meeting was held in the conference room and began at 1:30 and ended at 2:45. In attendance were: Laura Crumbley, Sherre Harrington, Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Maureen Morgan, Michael O’Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
· Announcements
· External Review Response (Sherre)
Announcements
· The web interfaces group will be hosting a vendor demonstration – OCLC WorldShare Management Services; please avoid scheduling conflicts in order to attend the demonstration scheduled for Wed., Feb. 27
External Review Response
· Please see LibGuides tab, “Assessment,” “External Reviews,” and the box, “External Review 2012” for review documents – “Library External Review 2012” and “Library External Review 2012 – Staff Responses.”
· Members of the Libraries Committee will review the external review and Sherre’s written response to the external review; also, the external review is in conjunction with the College and Library strategic plans which are currently in development
· Library space collaboration effort involves the Academic Commons Task Force, which is charged with developing library spaces to include: Academic Support Services, Office of First-Year Experience, the Writing Center, and Academic Technology and E-Learning
· Portions of the external review and the library staff responses to the external review were discussed which included: potential library space usage; staff salaries, position vacancies, job performance structure, and professional development; and defining the Student work Program as a distinct part of the learning environment at Berry College. Other issues included library staffing – The external reviewers strongly recommended not to immediately fill the ILL position and consider alternatives as part of the current process of developing the Library’s strategic plan. It was determined that the ILL/Reference Librarian remains a valued position, integral to the Public Services philosophy and operation. The position was filled within 1 month of the report submitted by the external reviewers.
The meeting was held in the classroom and began at 1:33 pm and ended at 2:52 pm. In attendance were: Sherre Harrington, Cheryl Hawkins, Steve Head, Michelle Horton, Jenny Kleine, Maureen Morgan, Michael O'Malley, Martha Reynolds, Jeremy Worsham, and Jessica Yates.
Agenda
· Department Updates
· Student Work Committee Update (Cheryl)
· Library Assistance Flags (Martha)
· Library Programming/Exhibit Plans and Calendar of Events for Spring Semester (Sherre)
Department Updates
· Library Administration – completed evaluations for the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 Institutional Effectiveness Plans, the 2012-2013 evaluation is currently a work-in-progress; 2012 External Review report to be reviewed; space planning – developing collaborative workspaces and office space for the Office of 1st Year Experience; determining the Library’s role in the College’s 2012-2022 Strategic Plan; Committee work involvement – Berry Family Reunion, Honor Code Exploration, and Office of 1st Year Experience Book Selection Committee
· Electronic and Continuing Resources – shifting bound periodicals; creating request to discard lists for depository exchange; updating serial subscriptions
· Public and Instructional Services – developing library service desk training procedures; arranging virtual reference coverage; web interfaces group – exploring possible use of other discovery tools/online catalogs, integrated library systems; Inter-Library Loan – staffed by students, need to evaluate and improve operations/workflows; working towards purchase on demand services
· Archives – assisting with researching the history of the baseball team and photograph identification, installation of new exhibit (Science Building/McAllister Hall/Dr. Mac); preparing for class visits and using the Archives
· Technical Services – developing ILL purchasing on demand workflows; testing mobile and music library catalog interface; making preparations to move items from storage area
· Web Services – assisting with reference chat services, working on developing library instruction, updating LibGuides and library’s webpages, steering committee work for the Photographic Digital Archive Project
· Library Facilities – researching library patron counters for purchase; installed library assistance flags in librarian office areas; acquired 3 small round tables for use in smaller areas in the library; arranging for spot carpet cleaning throughout the library
· Acquisitions – purchasing materials for reserve items and for replacement music scores and books that are in disrepair
· Cataloging – ongoing catalog restoration; updating statistics; investigating barcodes and missing/lost items; creating workflows with the library service desk; cataloging music library materials
· Circulation & Reserves – processing course reserves with incorporation of a Velcro labeling system; updating the library operations calendar; conducting library service desk training and compiling and reviewing service desk statistics for the past 6 months
Student Work Committee
· Workshop planning (Jan. 31 – customer service/dealing with difficult people, Feb. 7 – Etiquette Dinner, Mar. 21 – highlighting the functions of library departments), alternative online workshops are available thru VikingWeb (RefWorks and ProQuest tutorials and customer service training for students)
· Updating the VikingWeb student distribution mail list
· Spring student/staff party planning (April 19)
Library Assistance Flags
· A blue flag displayed outside an office will be used as a visual cue to library patrons that help is available and will be provided by those working in the office area
· Flags are to be taken down during times when nobody is available to provide assistance
Library Programming/Exhibit Plans and Calendar of Events for Spring Semester
· Library programming announcements will be posted on the College’s campus events calendar
· Library programming for the spring semester can include: faculty/staff favorite books exhibit, African-American Read-In, National Library Week, Berry Family Reunion tea, faculty author party, Constitution Day, Black History Month, Women’s History Month, travelling exhibit (poetry readings and musical performances), Symposium on Student Scholarship, and a film-of-the-month
· Information about events and exhibits can also be posted on LibGuides