LibGuides: Martha Berry and the Berry Schools: Researching Martha Berry

Start with a simple search. Use quotation marks to indicate that an entire phrase must be present.

"martha berry"

"berry college"

"berry schools"

Most resources provide an advanced search to narrow by type of material or subject. Key subjects inlcude:

history

philanthropy

For broader materials which will provide context (and may or may not mention Berry) keywords include:

rural schools

educators

education -- southern states

appalachians -- georgia

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of core scholarly books and journals, covering a wide variety of disciplines. (Note that journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT in JSTOR.)
Memorial Library also has access to 48,000 backlist book titles from 88 publishers, in addition to JSTOR's thousands of open access ebooks. JSTOR ebooks will be included in Library search results, but you can also search the full JSTOR ebook collection here.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from U.S. & Canadian magazines between 1890 and 1982, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of special interest and general magazines published between 1740 and 1940.
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection.

Research Databases
We have hundreds of databases that provide access to digital articles, video, and more!

Try these keyword searches to find material in the general collection as well as some archival materials: