Covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series as well as the Documentary and Yearbook Series - all delivered in an online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
During the Harlem Renaissance, several literary periodicals encouraged African American women to submit poetry, short stories, essays, or other literary contributions for publication. Opportunity magazine was one such periodical that made immeasurable contributions to the careers of many female African American writers. This anthology collects all of the short stories published in Opportunity by African American women during the magazine's 25 years of publication.
More Sources for Scholarly Articles
Try one of these more specialized databases to go beyond the sources you can identify by searching GoogleScholar:
Full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. This database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres. Also features dozens of lesson plans and a link to EBSCO's Curriculum Standards Module, a tool that can help teachers correlate content to Common Core and state-specific curriculum standards.
A full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose. Literature Online also includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.
Research database of articles from scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry as well as reviews of performances, motion pictures and television.
In this enlightening guide, author and educator Lynn Domina examines the literature of the Harlem Renaissance along with the cultural and societal factors influencing its writers. This compelling book illuminates the cultural conditions affecting the lives of African Americans everywhere, addressing topics such as prohibition, race riots, racism, interracial marriage, sharecropping, and lynching. Each chapter includes historical background on both the literary work and the author and explores several themes through historical document excerpts and thoughtful analysis to illustrate how literature responded to the surrounding social circumstances. Chapters conclude with a discussion of why and how the literary work remains relevant today.
Taking the incredible flowering of African-American literature in the 1920s as its starting point, Looking for Harlem offers a cogent and persuasive new reading of a diverse range of twentieth-century black American writing. From the streets, subways, hotels and cabarets of New York's Harlem and Chicago's Southside, Maria Balshaw moves beyond the canon to encompass often neglected writing by Rudolph Fisher, Wallace Thurman and Claude McKay, as well as the more familiar work of Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Nella Larsen and Toni Morrison. In a provocative revision of African-American literary history, Balshaw examines the creation of an 'urban aesthetic' and explores the links between the engagement with the city and fictional reconstructions of racial identity and race writing. Focusing on the material culture of the city, the visual sense of the urban environment, the class dynamics of urban culture and the crucial importance of consumerism, this study presents a critically astute, challenging and very welcome new approach to a much-studied area of contemporary American fiction.
This wide-ranging introduction to American women writers and their work explores how they have established their identity. Reynolds examines the key writers of the period and places their works in successive cultural contexts, from the end of the Victorian era and suffrage through the rethinking of feminist politics in the 1960s to the present day. Novels are grouped into genres, and several recurring themes are explored, such as national identity and political engagement. Zora Neale Hurston, Nella Larsen and Jessie Fauset
Moving women from the margin to the center, Wall (English, Rutgers Univ.) examines the lives and work of novelists Jessie Redmon Fauset, Zora Neale Hurston, and Nella Larsen and such poets as Georgia Douglas Johnson and Annie Scales Spencer. By connecting the women to one another, to the cultural movement in which they worked, and to other early 20th-century women writers, Wall deftly defines their place in American literature. Her biographical and literary analysis surpasses others by following up on diverse careers that often ended far past the end of the movement. -Library Journal
Many scholars have written about the white readers and patrons of the Harlem Renaissance, but during the period many black writers, publishers, and editors worked to foster a cadre of African American readers, or in the poet Sterling Brown's words, a "reading folk." Black newspapers featured columns that reviewed the latest African American fiction. Magazines held writing contests to urge black readers to participate in the literary culture. Through newspapers, journals, and anthologies, writers such as James Weldon Johnson, Jessie Fauset, and Gwendolyn Bennett spoke directly to their fellow African Americans to cultivate interest in literature and the intellectual tools for reading it.