Skip to main content

Gay and Lesbian Literature: Home

Find scholarly sources on topics related to gay & lesbian literature and culture

•  Go to the Library web page, enter your topic in the center search box and GO!  

Search results will include books & ebooks, book chapeters & articles (mostly scholarly), videos, and other sources.
Refine search results by checking format, content, topic, etc.
Books & articles available electronically will usually (but not always!) have a View Now button.
Use the Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan button to get books & articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection. The link will automatically fill in the request form for you once you've set up an ILLiad account.

Can I use Google?

Many students are inclined to start with Google and Wikipedia. That's fine for getting a basic introduction to your topic, and you may even find credible, scholarly websites that will be beneficial -- even crucial -- to your research. But to do a thorough job, to truly endeavor to become an expert, you MUST do two things:

Critically evaluate any free web-based resources
Go beyond the open web to ensure that you've found the best resources

A Comprehensive Literature Source

 Literary Reference Center is a great resource to use for thorough research on literary topics - writers, genres, time periods, etc.

Results will include the full text of credible secondary sources -- journal & encyclopedia articles, excerpts from books, news articles & book reviews.
Most results also include the full text of primary sources -- period articles, book reviews, and interviews.
Use quotation marks around the name if results include too many unrelated sources.

Your Librarian

Click on the librarian's name to schedule an appointment.

MLA Style

Most databases, including the Library's main search box, will format citations in MLA format for you:

On the database record for a book or article, look for links to Cite or Cite/Export.
Choose MLA, then cut & paste the formatted citation into your document.

Or, use a reference management tool such as Zotero to create a database of your sources & automatically format citations.

For more details about MLA style, use the Purdue OWL MLA Formatiing & Style Guide. Here's the link:

Other Techniques

 Use the bibliography/reference list of the articles & books you find to track down additional sources.  Check relevant articles in Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authors Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!