Skip to main content

Physics Research Guide: Articles & More

Welcome

Welcome to Memorial Library's Physics Research Guide! This guide assembles the basic tools you will need to research topics in biology, along with resources to help you write effectively within the discipline. I encourage you to Schedule an Appointment to set up a time to discuss your project.

Liaison Librarian

Sherre Harrington's picture
Sherre Harrington
Contact:
215 Memorial Library
706-236-2285

Find Articles on Physics Topics

These databases search the full scope of physics and other scientific literature. For the most comprehensive results, try more than one database. While each database offers different features, these search hints apply to most:   

Refine search results by adding other limits such as year, language, full text, etc.
Sort by date, author, title, or relevance.
Look for links to view full text of articles online.
For articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection, look for a link to request interlibrary loan. Often, these links will automatically fill in the request form for you once you've set up an ILLiad account.

Finding Articles Once You Have a Citation

In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?

Check the Journal Locator!

Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.

If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.

Preprints

Preprints are especially important in physics. A preprint is a complete written description of a body of scientific work that has yet to be published in a journal. Typically, a preprint is a research article, editorial, review, etc. that is ready to be submitted to a journal for peer review or is under review. It could also be a commentary, a report of negative results, a large data set and its description, or a paper that has been peer reviewed and either is awaiting formal publication by a journal or was rejected, but the authors are willing to make the content public. (PLOS, 2017)

Other Techniques

► Use the bibliography/reference list of articles & other sources you find. ► Check relevant articles in Web of Science or Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authorsLook for review articles on your topic. Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!