Skip to main content

Vertebrate Zoology: Home

How to Identify Peer Reviewed Journals

If you're searching for articles in certain databases, you can limit your search to peer-reviewed sources simply by selecting a tab or checking a box on the search screen.

If you have an article, an indication that it has been through the peer review process will be the publication history, usually at the beginning or end of the article.

If you're looking at the journal itself, go to the editorial statement or instructions to authors (usually in the first few pages of the journal or at the end) for references to the peer-review process.

Careful! Not all information in a peer-reviewed journal is actually reviewed. Editorials, letters to the editor, book reviews, and other types of information don't count as articles, and may not be accepted by your professor.

Finding Articles Once You Have a Citation

In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?

Check the Journal Locator!

Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.

If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.

More Information

Find Peer Reviewed Articles on Biology Topics: Best Bet

Go to the Library web page, select the Articles tab, enter your topic in the search box and GO!  

Use quotation marks to search by phrases, including scientific names.
Refine search results by checking peer reviewed -- add other limits such as year or languge.
Sort by date, author, title, or relevance.
Articles available electronically will usually (but not always!) have a View Now button.
Click on the article title to see more detail, including a summary or abstract and print/cite/email options.
Use the Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan button to get articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection. The link will automatically fill in the request form for you once you've set up an ILLiad account.

Remember, the article search is very broad - if the search results seem overwhelming, limit or narrow your search, or try a database limited to a particular discipline (see the list below). 

Other Good Sources for Finding Articles in Peer Reviewed Journals

Citation Format

 

 

Use the citation format from the American Society of Mammalogists (Journal of Mammalogy). Here's an example for a journal:

Badgley, C., T. M. Smiley, and J. A. Finarelli. 2014. Great Basin mammalian diversity in relation to landscape history. Journal of Mammalogy 95:1090–1106.

For more examples, check the General Instructions to Authors. Here's the link:

Liaison Librarian

Sherre Harrington's picture
Sherre Harrington
Contact:
215 Memorial Library
706-236-2285

Reference Management Tools

Other Techniques

► Use the bibliography/reference list of articles & other sources you find. ► Check relevant articles in Web of Science or Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authorsLook for review articles on your topic. Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!