Research Resources - RHW 102 Mr. Kwist - First-Year Seminar in Writing

General Research Databases

These databases provide access to the widest range of articles from journals, magazines, and other resources. Start here for most research projects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on all subjects.
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's databases:

• Education Full Text
• General Science Full Text
• Humanities Full Text
• Readers' Guide Full Text
• Social Sciences Full Text
• Wilson Business Full Text

Also included is the full text from ONLY the journals to which Wilson has full-text rights that are in the following five databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

Food Research Databases

Use these databases to browse topics or do in-depth research on specific subjects related to food.

Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles for general readers and research projects.
Covers a wide range of subjects from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, industry news.
scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Coverage includes periodicals, company and country reports, and books from domestic and international sources. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more. Full-text periodicals include:

• Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research
• Current Issues in Tourism
• Hotel & Motel Management
• International Journal of Tourism Research
• Journal of Ecotourism
• Journal of Leisure Research
• Journal of Sport Tourism
• Journal of Sustainable Tourism
• Leisure Sciences
• Leisure Studies
• Nation's Restaurant News
• Restaurant Business
• Tourism & Hospitality Research
• Tourism Review

Coverage Dates: 1992 - present (full text); 1965 - present (abstracting and indexing)
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos.
Explores how food shapes the world around us. Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.

Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection.
Food And Drink in History This link opens in a new window
Printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, and films.
Aims to represent a range of key food and drink history stories from the evolution of food within everyday life to haute cuisine, charting key issues around agriculture and food production, and looking into advertising histories of key food and drink brands. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status.

New York Times

NYTimes.com (online) Current Berry College students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to nytimes.com. Activate an academic pass on campus or off campus! Go to accessnyt.com and type in the school name. Then use your Berry email address to register.
New York Times (text only, ProQuest), 1980-present Transcribed full text, 1980 - present. Does not include page images.
New York Times Historical (page images, ProQuest), 1851-2017 Full-image/pdf access. Cover-to-cover access including graphics, photographs, advertisements, maps, etc., as well as all editorials and columns.

Access Databases Off-Campus

Databases are accessible off-campus via your Active Directory credentials. Your Active Directory username is the first part of your email address. (For example, jsmith or john.smith).

To reset your AD password, visit the Berry MyApps Portal https://myapps.berry.edu. Here's instructions from IT.