These databases search the full scope of animal science and other scientific literature. For the most comprehensive results, try more than one database. While each database offers different features, these search hints apply to most:
Refine search results by adding other limits such as year, language, full text, etc.
by date, author, title, or relevance.
Look for links to view full text of articles online.
For articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection, look for a link to request interlibrary loan. Often, these links will automatically fill in the request form for - just log in to your Library Account.
In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?
►Check the Journal Locator!
Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.
If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.
Peer review is defined as “a process of subjecting an author’s scholarly work, research or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field” (1). Peer review is intended to serve two purposes:
How do you determine whether an article qualifies as being a peer-reviewed journal article?
What about preprint sites and ResearchGate?
► Use the bibliography/reference list of articles & other sources you find. ► Check relevant articles in Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authors. ► Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!