Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Considered by mental health researchers and clinicians as the accepted classification system for mental disorders. Contains all diagnostic criteria plus systematic descriptions of disorders. Instructions for use are included, as the information is detailed and the entries are based on a numerical code.
Each volume contains approximately 100 critical reviews of commercial tests most frequently used in psychological assessment, business and education. Review essays include a description of the development and applications of the test, technical data, a lengthy critique and list of references.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology
A reference guide containing information on thousands of assessment instruments. It presents a concise description of each test in an easy to read format. This guide does not evaluate tests.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by
Call Number: BF31 .E5 1994
A comprehensive four-volume source on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Articles reflect major disciplines in the study of human behavior, common topics of research by professionals and areas of public interest and concern.
4 Volumes; Index in Vol. 4; Bibliography
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by
Call Number: Ref BF531 .E55 1999
A comprehensive look at what is known today about the nature, causes, expression, and societal role of human emotions throughout history and across cultures.
2 Volumes; Index in Vol. 2; Bibliography
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory by
Call Number: Ref BF318 .E53 1992
A collection of 189 articles that provide historical background and factual overviews on a large range of topics of learning and memory.
1 Volume; Indexed; Bibliography
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Call Number: Ref BF31 .E52 2000
A comprehensive resource that covers every area of psychology. Coverage includes: concepts, methods, theories, findings, major figures, schools of thought, and emerging areas of interest.
8 Volumes; Index in Vol. 8; Annotated Bibliography
Encyclopedia of Stress by
Call Number: QP82 .2 .S8 E53 2000
Comprised of nearly 400 entries by leading experts in the field. Covers almost every conceivable aspect and ramification of stress.
3 Volumes; Index in Vol. 3; Bibliography; Glossary
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Call Number: BF31 .G35 1996
A collection of over 450 articles that serve to explain key psychological concepts and theories, as well as provide biographical information on some of the most important figures in the history of psychology.
1 Volume; Indexed; Bibliography
Oxford Companion to the Mind by
Call Number: BF31 .O94 2004
The Oxford Companion to the Mind includes discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with definitions of common human experiences such as the 'cocktail-party' and 'halo' effects, and the least effort principle.
Handbook of Child Psychology by
Call Number: BF721 .H242 1998
A definitive reference in the field of child development. It serves as a sourcebook, encyclopedia, and research review. 4 Volumes
Handbook of Sport Psychology by
Call Number: GV706.4 .H37 2001
A resource for sport psychologists, students, coaches, and athletes that combines theoretical explanation with practical applications to discuss skilled acquisition, psychological characteristics of high-level performance, motivation, life span development, etc.
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging by
Call Number: BF724.8 .H36
Definitive reference source for information on the psychology of adult development and aging. Topics include the genetics of behavioral aging, environmental influences on aging, gender roles, mental health, declining motor control, elder abuse, and the end of life.
International Handbook of Psychology by
Call Number: Ref BF121 .I56443 2000
Covers all the main areas of psychological science and is written by contributors from around the world. Contains 31 chapters that cover scientific, applied and cross-disciplinary aspects of psychology.