LibGuides: NUR 412 Evidence-Based Practice: Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health journals.
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. It provides full-text coverage of journals and publications from well-known associations including the American Occupation Therapy Association and the American Diabetes Association. Also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules, and it covers disciplines that include biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and more.

CINAHL Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH, used by the National Library of Medicine. This structure has been used to develop 14,381 CINAHL subject headings which reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals.

Coverage Dates: Varies by title; 1937 - present (full text); 1937 - present (abstracting and indexing)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Citations may include links to full text content from Memorial Library, PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Set up a personal account to save searches & citations, create & share bibliographies and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles, evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI), study paths.
Reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

Topics include:
• Cytology
• Nursing
• Nutrition
• Oncology
• Pediatric Care
• Pharmacology
• Public Health
• Radiology

Leading nursing and related publications, such as:
• Association of Operating Room Nurses. AORN Journal
• Journal of Nursing Scholarship
• Oncology Nursing Forum
• Journal of Gerontological Nursing
• Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services
• Critical Care Nurse
• Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
• Physical Therapy
• Journal of Athletic Training
• Journal of Rehabilitation
• The Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
• Journal of Allied Health
• Applied Radiology
• Clinical Laboratory Science
• Dental Assistant
• Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy

Also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These include Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. The JBI's evidence-based approach opens a new world of education resources, with critical appraisal and meta-analysis that is highly respected and unquestioned in the field.

In addition, study paths are provided to find key topics and recommended reading. The curriculum-based topic tree connects users to appropriate articles on specific topics. A board of experienced nurse educators have hand-selected the most relevant results for a wide range of subjects.

Coverage Dates: 1986 to present

Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.
Merck Manual (Professional Edition) This link opens in a new window
Standard medical reference source with detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Test preparation, career certification, skills improvement
An interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

LearningExpress Library offers:
• Math and reading skills improvement for adults, K-12 and college students
• Practice tests for college entrance, including ACT, SAT, AP, TOEFL iBT, CLEP, and more
• Practice exams for graduate school entrance, including GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MAT, MCAT, PCAT
• Job search skills help
• Business communication skills courses
• Civil service exam preparation
• Nursing and allied health practice exams
• Educator exam preparation
• U.S. citizenship exam preparation
• And more!

TRIP Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.