It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Controversial Questions and Your Health: Finding Articles
This guide supports the controversial health topic facilitation assignment in KIN222. It is also a great place to find resources to help you with the health-related questions that you encounter every day.
A selection of the most useful databases for finding research and news articles related to health are listed in the boxes below. Remember that databases index a variety of information: you must still evaluate whether it is appropriate to support your topic.
► TIP: Be sure to check the date of publication! Articles greater than 5 years old are generally inappropriate for health topics unless you are specifically seeking historical data.
► TIP: How do I know which database(s) are best?
If you are still exploring your topic, it may be best to start with a general research database (the left box).
If you are drilling down for specific information, it may be best to use a database focused on health topics (the middle box).
News articles (the right box) are least likely to be useful for finding authoritative facts. That said, you may find interesting leads by exploring newspapers and news magazines instead of the scholarly literature.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's databases:
• Education Full Text
• General Science Full Text
• Humanities Full Text
• Readers' Guide Full Text
• Social Sciences Full Text
• Wilson Business Full Text
Also included is the full text from ONLY the journals to which Wilson has full-text rights that are in the following five databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
You can also try a broad search for articles, books, and ebooks using the library's online catalog, WorldCat Discovery.
► TIP: You will find many more articles by searching separately in the library's databases listed in other boxes on this page. Very few of the library's 260+ databases are searched when you use WorldCat Discovery.
Articles for general readers and research projects.
Covers a wide range of subjects from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
Health-related subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics.
Health topics such as fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging and women's health. Includes access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Citations may include links to full text content from Memorial Library, PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Set up a personal account to save searches & citations, create & share bibliographies and more.
Search 11 full text newspaper databases simultaneously: Atlanta Journal & Constitution, Canadian Newsstand, Christian Science Monitor, International Newspapers, Los Angeles Times, New York Times current & historical, ProQuest Newsstand, The Wall Street Journal & The Washington Post.
Articles, citations, abstracts, various topics from general interest periodicals.
Full text and Indexing of popular periodicals. Covers news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, foreign affairs, sports and hobbies, fashion, food and cooking, and health and nutrition. Feature articles are indexed and abstracted, as are speeches, obituaries, recipes, product evaluations, do-it-yourself works, reviews, and original works of fiction.