Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Information

The details about new resources, requesting material for the collection, placing items on reserve, and other nuts and bolts information about Memorial Library for Berry College faculty.

Liaison Librarians

Contact the liaison librarian for your department to for instructional and research support services for you and your students, as well as to work with you to develop library collections.

CAMPBELL SCHOOL OF BUSINESS: Sherre Harrington

CHARTER SCHOOL OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN SCIENCES: Jeremy Worsham

EVANS SCHOOL OF HUMANITIES, ARTS & SOCIAL SCIENCES:

SCHOOL OF MATHEMATICS AND NATURAL SCIENCES: Sherre Harrington

PROGRAMS:

Request Materials for Memorial Library Collections

To request materials for the collection, regardless of format, please use our online forms.

Print or Ebook?

  • As you make the decision about requesting print vs. electronic, please consider whether more than one person will need to use an item. 
  • Ebooks come in several configurations, mostly related to how many people can access the item at one time and to what extent content can be printed or downloaded. It will be helpful to know if you think a single user version is sufficient or if multiple simultaneous users will be necessary, and if you have particular needs related to printing and downloading. We especially need to know if you will be expecting your entire class to use the same e-book. 
  • Although you will see duplication in the library catalog, mostly because a significant portion of our ebooks come via bundled packages, we try to avoid buying multiple copies of the same item, either in the same or different formats. If you have an item for which you think multiple copies are needed, please discuss it with the liaison librarian for your department.

 

August 13, 2021

Course Reserves for Fall 2021

We are no longer quarantining materials, so reserves are back to normal.

  • Contact Access Services Coordinator Morgan Stansell to discuss your course reserve needs. 

Access Library Resources within Canvas

Teaching a class that uses library databases? Remember to enable Library Resources pages on each of your courses. Without leaving Canvas students can

  • view the Library Hours
  • book a Library Help Session with a Librarian
  • connect with a Librarian via email, text or chat
  • view subject-specific databases for your course
  • view subject or course guides related to your course (may not apply to all courses)

 

Library Orientation for BCC 100

We invite BCC 100 instructors to add the library orientation module in Canvas. Search Canvas Commons within your course and add the module for your students.

Questions? Need something different? Contact Jeremy Worsham


If you would like to schedule a Berry History session, please contact the Berry College Archivist, Michael O’Malley

Link to Full Text Library Resources

Add links to articles & other full text resources anywhere on that accepts hyperlinks.

It is important to note that for the links to work correctly both on and off campus, you must format the URL correctly. In most cases, you can’t just copy the link from your browser search box.

Copy the link

The method of capturing the link varies from source to source. In general, look for something called a stable link or permalink. Here are some examples:

  • JSTOR: Go to the full text display. In the citation at the top of the article, copy the “Stable URL”.
  • EBSCO databases: ‚ÄčGo to the full text display. In the list of “Tools” to the right of the text, click on “Permalink” and copy the resulting link at the top of the page. If Permalink is not available, click on "Cite" and copy one of the EBSCO links in suggested citations. 
  • ProQuest databases: Go to the full text display. Scroll down to “Indexing Details”. Copy the “Document URL”.
  • Oxford, Wiley & Project Muse journals: Go to the article pdf. Copy the link in your browser search box.

Check for the proxy instructions

Be sure the link includes the text necessary to let students access the material off campus, or using their cell phone data account: http://ucheck.berry.edu/login?url=  Add this text to the beginning of the URL if necessary.

For example, here's how the the url for "No Throwing Popcorn" from the Feb. 2009 issue of Cartographic Journal would look:

http://ucheck.berry.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=37380813&site=ehost-live 

Request Media Digitization

Other Guides of Particular Interest to Faculty