Skip to main content

African American Literature: Home

A Great Place to Start

Literary Reference Center is a great place to start.

Results will include the full text of credible secondary sources -- journal & encyclopedia articles, excerpts from books, news articles & book reviews.
Most results also include the full text of primary sources -- period articles, book reviews, and interviews.
Use quotation marks around the name if results include too many unrelated sources.

Find More Scholarly & Popular Sources

•  Go to the Library web page, enter your topic in the search box and GO!  

Use quotation marks to search by phrases.
Refine search results by checking format, content, topic, etc.
Books & articles available electronically will usually (but not always!) have a View Now button.
Click on Availability to find print copies in Memorial Library.
Use the Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan button to get books & articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection. The link will automatically fill in the request form for you once you've set up an ILLiad account.

Find More Primary Sources

Direct or firsthand evidence about an event, object, person, or work of art.
Usually written or made during or close to the event or time period.
Add terms such as memoirs, letters, diaries, and interviews to searches.
Try some of the historical databases below.

Find Video

Your Librarian

Click on the librarian's name to schedule an appointment.

Citation Format

Most databases, including the Library's main search box, will format citations in MLA format for you:

On the database record for a book or article, look for links to Cite or Cite/Export.
Choose MLA, then cut & paste the formatted citation into your document.

Or, use a reference management tool such as Zotero to create a database of your sources & automatically format citations.

For more details about MLA style, use the Purdue OWL MLA Formatiing & Style Guide. Here's the link:

Other Techniques

 Use the bibliography/reference list of the articles & books you find to track down additional sources.  Check relevant articles in Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authors Call or email me to make an appointment for a research consultation!