It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lesbian / Gay / Queer Literature
Find scholarly sources on topics related to Lesbian/Gay/Queer literature and culture to complete assignments for ENG 336
The gold standard for finding scholarly sources in literature.
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations plus 1,000 full text journals, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
Browse by author or work, or search by keyword. Results will include full text scholarly articles, reference works, biographical materials, and plot summaries. Also look here for primary sources -- period articles, book reviews, and interviews.
A full-text database that combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Reference sources include:
• Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes)
• The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
• Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
• Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
• Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
• The Literary Encyclopedia
• The complete Magill On Literature Plus
• Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
• The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
• The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.
ProQuest One Literature is for scholars who must engage with an exhaustive and diverse set of scholarly resources around a given literary topic for research and course planning. It contains 5 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Index, abstracts, world history (excluding the United States and Canada) books & articles.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
Although not a comprehensive database, JSTOR's digitized archive of core scholarly journals, covering a wide variety of disciplines, is a rich resource for any topic. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
Memorial Library also has access to 48,000 backlist book titles from 88 publishers, in addition to JSTOR's thousands of open access ebooks. JSTOR ebooks will be included in Library search results, but you can also search the full JSTOR ebook collection here.
► Use the bibliography/reference list of the articles & books you find to track down additional sources. ►Check relevant articles in Google Scholar to see if they've been cited by other authors. ► Make an appointment for a research consultation!