Biology

Monthly audio show and accompanying website highlights discoveries in neuroscience through in-dept interviews with acclaimed scientists and discussion of recent books. Intended for "general listeners." Episodes average about an hour in length and may be downloaded or streamed. The most recent 25 episodes are free; older episodes and transcripts are available for a modest fee.

Information on current food and agriculture research and education programs in the U.S. Subject guides include Animals, Biotechnology & Genomics, Pest Management, and Plants.

Applications may be used both in and out of the classroom. Faculty may design a course in cell structure/function using information on the site, and students may access the site either as a primary text of as reference material.

Access to records for 1.3 million plant and fungi specimens, including location, collector, habitat, name, and authority information. Searches can be limited to records with images.

The most comprehensive information available on the geographic distribution of vascular plants in Virginia.

Currently in beta, aims to monitor deforestation worldwide. Partners include Google, the Jane Goodall Institute, and UNEP.

Index of the primary citations for names of seed plants, ferns, and lycophytes.

Collections inlcuded the Central Asiatic Expeditions (1921-1930); the Julian Dimock Collection, documenting African American communities in the southern US (1904-1911); and the Lumholtz Expedition to Mexico (1891-1898).

The full text of the Complete Publications of Charles Darwin, private papers and diaries, and supplementary materials such as reviews and responses to Darwin.

Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

A public archive of Census publications published prior to 1987, primarily scanned print material now available in PDF format. The Census of Agriculture, taken every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures, and many other areas.

Searchable collection of the complete writings of the British naturalist and co-founder of the theory of evolution Alfred Russel Wallace. Including a comprehensive compilation of his specimens - much of it never before seen.

Documents the history of science through the words and images of the many distinguished scientists, including 8 Nobel laureates (most notably James Watson & Barbara McClintock) who have worked at the laboratory. This unique collection of oral histories provides an unprecedented perspective on the development of molecular biology, the present state of the science, and visions of the future by the leading scientists in the field.

A portal for conservation practitioners. Three sections constitute the site's backbone: Conservation Planning, Conservation Practices, and Conservation by Geography. Content includes articles, professional development tools, and interactive elements to create a more sustainable planet.

Information on all aspects of the Convention, Cartagena Protocol, Nagoya Protocol, and related programs. Country profiles, organism and gene databases, reports ad other publications.

News, data, and reports on issues rlevant to public health and the environment. EWG earned high marks on CharityNavigator for accountability and transparency, and staff members frequently testify to congressional and other regulatory oversight groups.

A clearinghouse of information on farmland protection and stewardship. Includes news items and links to reports, articles, and datasets. Local, state, and federal agencies are the primary authors of documents in the database.

A collection of biodiversity maps produced by a consortium of numerous scientific and conservation groups and the European Union. The atlas compiles freshwater geospatial data into one searchable source with the mission of increasing the availability of conservation information to scientists, policy makers, and others.

A nationwide inventory of wetlands (including river and shore areas). Map data is available for download by state, but for most users, the primary purpose is to power the Mapper, an online mapping and data display tool that shows the most current data for the NWI.

Information about endangered species, threatened ecosystems, and biodiversity, as well as related data sets and methodologies.

A searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Documents include historical materials, reports, transcripts, and brochures.