LibGuides: Religion: Reference

Online Reference

Here are three commonly used resources. These are great for learning more about a topic and finding additional keywords to search in our databases. Don't forget to check their bibliography for potential resources!

Oxford Reference is great to search since it contains encyclopedias that cover various faith traditions.

Encyclopedia of Christianity Online This link opens in a new window
Best source for Christian topics. Start here to learn about topics and starting your research.
With linked entries, you can move between topics, people, and passages describing modern-day Christian beliefs and communities within the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Quick reference coverage of all subjects.
Combines quick reference coverage of a full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions.

Access Databases Off-Campus

Databases are accessible off-campus via your Active Directory credentials. Your Active Directory username is the first part of your email address. (For example, jsmith or john.smith).

To reset your AD password, visit the Berry MyApps Portal https://myapps.berry.edu. Here's instructions from IT.