LibGuides: Credo InfoLit: Home

Introduction

Credo InfoLit includes over 100 videos, tutorials, and quizzes that will help develop your students Information Literacy (IL) Skills. Each section covers a different aspect of IL and you can pick and choose how and when to use them.

Links to individual modules are provided in each section that will take you directly to the resource or that can be integrated into your Canvas course.

Use the Teaching Guides below for ideas on how to integrate these resources into your courses. If you have additional ideas on how to use these resources, we ask that you share your ideas with us so that we can continue to develop this guide as a resources for the campus community.

Teaching Guides

Each of these guides are designed to give you ideas for integrating this content into your course. Academic classes are provided solely as a guideline for organizing the content. Feel free to adapt these as needed for your course and situation.

Level 1: Introductory Topics (High School/Freshmen)

Academic Integrity, Plagiarism, and Intellectual Property
A teaching guide that provides students with an introduction to the themes of academic integrity, plagiarism, and intellectual property.
Principles of Citation - APA
Provides an introduction to citations and the details of the APA Citation Style.
Principles of Citation - MLA
Provides an introduction to citations and the details of the MLA Citation Style.
Principles of Citation - Other
Provides an introduction to citations in general and the details of Chicago, Harvard, and Turabian Citation Styles.
Why Information Literacy Matters
Provides an introduction to the role of information in contemporary life and the significance of information literacy

Level 2: Basic Skills (Freshmen/Sophomore)

Choosing Sources
Provides an introduction to the variety of sources that are available for research and guidance on choosing appropriate sources.
Developing Ideas and Research Questions
Provides guidance on developing a topic at the beginning of the research process.
Introduction to Searching
Provides an introduction to selecting a database and keyword searches.
Research Mechanics and Writing Fundamentals
Provides an introduction to the fundamental mechanics of research, including a general overview of common research processes and methods, writing basics, and source types.
Scholarly Communication and Academic Sources
Provides an introduction to the topic of scholarly communication and academic sources.
Synthesizing Information and Devloping Arguments
Provides an introduction to synthesizing information and developing an argument.
Writing as Communication Tool
Use these resources to teach your students the importance of selecting the appropriate written format based on their communication needs.

Level 3: Advanced Skills (Sophomore/Junior)

Evaluating Sources - Overview
Use this guide to provide your students with a broad overview of the principles of evaluating sources.
Evaluating Sources - Focus on Web and News Sources
Use this guide if you are teaching students about evaluating sources and would like to focus on web and news sources.
Introduction to Logical Reasoning
Use this guide if you would like to teach your students how to reason.
Logical Reasoning and Analysis
Use this guide if you are teaching students how to practice logical reasoning and analyze information.
Research Planning
Use this guide if your students are planning a research assignment.

Level 4: Capstone Skills (Junior/Senior)

Advanced Searching and Refining Results
Use this guide for students with a basic familiarity with searching to instruct them on more advanced search techniques and refining search results.
Critical Evaluation of Evidence
Use this guide if you are teaching the value of evidence and the importance of critically assessing a source.
Understanding Data
Use this guide if your students are learning to work with data.
Visual Literacy
Use this guide if your students are learning how to locate and interpret visual information.