Aims to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. This encyclopedia is suitable for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender.
More than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement, 75 percent of which are new and revised from the first edition. This second edition also features a more internationally focused introduction that provides an overview of the history and development of feminism as a movement and as a philosophy. Rounding out this new edition are an expanded chronology, and an updated bibliography that brings attention to many feminist online resources and periodicals, and emphasizes global and third-wave feminism, both new developments in the field since the publication of the first edition. Paying tribute to the struggles of the women, and men, who have worked to change and to improve the living conditions for women in the world, this book promises a comprehensive historical overview for readers of all interest levels.
Each of 50 key concepts begins with a concise definition, includes illustrations of how the concept has been applied within the field, offers examples which allow a critical re-evaluation of the concept, is cross-referenced with the other key concepts, and makes further reading suggestions.
A jargon-free, non-technical, and easily accessible introduction to women's studies! All too many students enter academia with the hazy idea that the field of women's studies is restricted to housework, birth control, and Susan B. Anthony. Their first encounter with a women's studies textbook is likely to focus on the history and sociology of women's lives. While these topics are important, the emphasis on them has led to neglect of equally important issues. Transforming the Disciplines: A Women's Studies Primer is one of the first women's studies textbooks to show feminist scholarship as an active force, changing the way we study such diverse fields as architecture, bioethics, history, mathematics, religion, and sports studies. Although this text was designed as an introduction to women's studies, it is also rewarding for upper-level or graduate students who want to understand the pervasive effects of feminist theory. Most chapters provide a bibliography or list of further reading of significant works. Its clear, jargon-free prose makes feminist thought accessible to general readers without sacrificing the revolutionary power of its ideas. In almost thirty essays, covering a broad range of subjects from anthropology to chemistry to rhetoric, Transforming the Disciplines exemplifies the changes achieved by feminist thought. Transforming the Disciplines: combines a high standard of writing and scholarship with personal insight includes both traditional academic arguments and alternative, non-agonistic forms of discussion embraces an international scope challenges traditional assumptions, models, and methodologies offers an inter- and multidisciplinary approach strengthens readers'understanding of the big picture not only for women but for all disempowered groups critiques feminism as well as patriarchal society Feminist theory is grounded in a questioning of traditional assumptions about what is right, natural, and self-evident, not just about the roles and nature of men and women but about how we think, what we teach, whose experience matters, and what is important. Transforming the Disciplines is the first textbook to show the consequences of those questions -- not the answers themselves, but the consequences of the willingness to ask and the transformations that have occurred when the "right" answers changed.
In Who's Afraid of Women's Studies? the authors ask why there persists a fear of feminism and women's studies in the academy. Rogers and Garrett remind us that this field came into being as the result of women's practical efforts of advocacy and activism, to represent marginalized, excluded, and silenced voices. They explain the complex relationship between feminism, women's studies, and their deradicalized 'offspring'--gender studies. Six broad topics that have dominated the field over the past twenty-five years are examined in individual chapters: girls' and women's bodies, anger and desires, sexuality, identity politics, insider backlash, and feminist methods. The authors challenge women and men alike to reevaluate the concepts and analytical tools available in women's studies that are so uniquely oriented to understanding women's everyday lived experiences. They demonstrate how its rich historical and social analyses are the basis for a passionate scholarship, one that builds bridges between theory and practice to transform communities, women's organizations, and social movements. This new book will be a stimulating overview of women's studies, gender studies, and feminist theory, as well as a concise introduction to supplement standard texts or anthologies.
Authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the key men and women in the history of homosexuality from antiquity to the middle of the twentieth century. It includes biographies, with references, on figures - famous, notorious or unknown - in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia.
This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, philanthropists, and authors. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources.
An authoritative guide on gender prehistory for researchers, instructors and students in anthropology, archaeology, and gender studies Provides the most up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of gender archaeology, with an exclusive focus on prehistory Offers critical overviews of developments in the archaeology of gender over the last 30 years, as well as assessments of current trends and prospects for future research Focuses on recent Third Wave approaches to the study of gender in early human societies, challenging heterosexist biases, and investigating the interfaces between gender and status, age, cognition, social memory, performativity, the body, and sexuality Features numerous regional and thematic topics authored by established specialists in the field, with incisive coverage of gender research in prehistoric and protohistoric cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.Feminist Philosophies A-Zcovers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism.This volume is an indispensable resource for philosophers, students, and Women's Studies faculties as well as anyone with an interest in feminist philosophy.
Covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography, this book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone interested in learning more about the struggle for equality.
Covers the psychology of women, the psychology of men, and gender differences while discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Call Number: Ebook & Print at HQ1236 .W637725 2010
Women, Gender, and Politics brings together both classic and recent readings on central topics in the study of gender and politics, and places an emphasis on comparing developed and developing countries. Genuinely international in its focus, the book is divided into six sections to reflect the range of research in the subfield: (1) women and social movements, (2) women and political parties, (3) women, gender, and elections, (4) women, gender, and political representation, (5) women, gender, and social policies, and (6) women, gender, and the state. Each section serves as an introduction to general trends in thinking about women and politics, and the readings capture the ways that research has developed both thematically and chronologically in all of the six broad areas. The volume's innovative design, global approach, and comprehensive coverage make it an ideal teaching book and a valuable resource for students and scholars throughout the world.