It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's & Gender Studies
Your guide to Women's & Gender Studies research at Memorial Library: Find articles, books, primary sources, and more
Approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from 290 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous.
Books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
Ladies’ Home Journal (1885 to 2005)
Parents (1926 to 2005)
Redbook (1903 to 2005)
Town & Country (1946-2005)
WIN Nes (1975-2003)
Woman's Day (1937-2005)
Find the full text of early articles on topics related to women's and gender studies, women in society, etc.
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
The Digital Feminist Archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies as an academic discipline, and feminist struggles taking place at colleges and universities, in healthcare and social service centers, in political organizations and neighborhood meetings across the country.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives has the world's largest collection of materials by and about Lesbians. Digital collections include audio, video and photographs. Enjoy a taste of this collection by visiting their Online Photo Sampler.
A guide to researching women's history through the United States National Archives. Subjects include African-American women, families and children, suffrage, temperance, women in the military, and other subject areas related to women's history.
The Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society. Digitized collections include Susan B. Anthony and the Black Women’s Oral History Project.
An “international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections” aiming to create “a generative point of entry into the fascinating and expansive world of trans history.”
These tools will help you locate women's and gender studies archives.
Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Browse the database by subject (150+ entries), place (i.e., states), time period, and primary source type.