LibGuides: Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Get Started

Key Databases for Entrepreneurship Research

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from The Wall Street Journal and other business news sources. The Browse and the Data & Research tabs provide market research from Business Monitor and First Research.
Comprehensive business database including full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Also features respected historical business journals for a unique perspective on topics covering corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting, marketing, advertising, ethics, case studies, and much more. Deep backfiles encompass full runs of some of the most important business journals of the last century, all in cover-to-cover full page images, just as they were printed.

ABI/INFORM Collection consists of:
• ABI/INFORM Global
• ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
• ABI/INFORM Dateline
• ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1998
• The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition

Coverage Dates: 1905 to present

Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business-related articles, some peer-reviewed, reports, case studies and more.
A scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It provides detailed company information for some of the world’s largest public and private companies. Additionally, the database houses video footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930. Journal articles include information, such as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Coverage Dates: 1941 - present (full text); 1941 - present (abstracting and indexing)
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visually explore demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more.
Users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers. For full functionality, Berry students, faculty & staff sign up for an individual account while connected to the Berry network.

Case Studies

Case studies often are featured in books or journals and may be identified by keyword searching on "case studies" or "case study" and the target topic, for example Pharma AND "case studies".

Harvard Business Case Studies
Oxford University Centre for Corporate Reputation
Case studies that analyze how organizations deal with reputational challenges. Available free of charge; use the request form at the site.
MIT Sloan School of Management Teaching Resources Library
Open and free access to case studies and management simulations. Covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, with a focus on areas in which MIT Sloan’s research and teaching are most highly regarded.

Business Plans

SBA Business Planner
Step by step guidance on developing a business from the Small Business Administration (SBA).
How to Structure a Business Plan
From Inc. Magazine's Start-Up Guide.

3 Steps to Success: Business Plans That Get Investment by David Bateman
Provides the basic steps for how to write a plan that has the information that an investor needs to see.
Business Report Guides by Dorinda Clippinger
Examines business plans--why entrepreneurs need them, the objectives and contents of business plans, and how-to guides for each part.

Market Research

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.

Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection.

Business Formation Statistics
From the US Census Bureau. Information on new business applications and formations in the US.