LibGuides: Environmental Science and Studies: Resources

General Databases with access to ESS journals

Our general research databases are excellent tools because they search so many topics at once, but it can also be difficult to narrow results due to the sheer breadth of their scope. Try using advanced search techniques like narrowing results to specific subject areas (sociology/anthropology).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, environmental impact statements.
AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) plus full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.

Coverage:1960 - current

Subject-Specific Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Review articles that critically analyze significant primary research and recent developments in biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Multimedia materials related to key environmental challenges.
Text, archival, primary sources, video and audio around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. Curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries.

Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, various topics
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, environmental effects.
Deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1902 - present (full text); 1947 - present (abstracting and indexing)

Data Sources

Sometimes it is necessary to find statistical data and other forms of data sets for your research. Below are just a few data sources that are available to help with anthropological research. For more help in this area don't hesitate to contact one of our librarians for assistance.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visually explore demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more.
Users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers. For full functionality, Berry students, faculty & staff sign up for an individual account while connected to the Berry network.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Definitive compilation of statistical information from U.S. federal and state governments, businesses, and international publications.

DataPortals.org
Claims to be the most comprehensive list of open data portals in the world. It is curated by a group of leading open data experts from around the world - including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organisations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
NASA's Global Change Master Directory
The Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) is a directory to Earth science data and services. The GCMD database currently holds more than 25,000 Earth science data sets and services covering all aspects of Earth and environmental sciences.
Biodiversity Data Journal A community peer-reviewed, open access journal, designed to accelerate publishing, dissemination and sharing of biodiversity-related data of any kind.

Reference Sources

Reference materials can give you some of the basic information needed to progress further in your research. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Bibliographies, and other sources can be a vital part of establishing great research.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Quick reference coverage of all subjects.
Combines quick reference coverage of a full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation by Robert A. Meyers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471117087
Publication Date: 1998-03-23
With the growing concern over the environment, new industries and research areas have been developed to identify, monitor, regulate, and legislate environmental interactions as well as to determine and repair existing environmental damage. For both the expert and the newcomer, a quick, convenient, and comprehensive source is needed to answer questions on the rapidly increasing amount of environmental information. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation (EEAR) responds to this need by providing the reader with an in-depth examination of the environmental analysis and remediation fields in a single eight-volume reference source.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change, Set by Ted Munn (Editor); Michael C. MacCracken (Editor); John S. Perry (Editor); Harold A. Mooney (Editor); Josep G. Canadell (Editor); Ian Douglas (Editor); Mostafa K. Tolba (Editor); Peter Timmerman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471977964
Publication Date: 2001-12-21
THE DEFINITIVE RESOURCE The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change is the first major reference work in this multi-disciplinary field, and presents... * Outstanding authorship and high quality editing * Comprehensive coverage with over 3,800 pages in 5 volumes * Over 500 articles, 100 biographies, 150 definitions and 100 acronyms * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references

Access Databases Off-Campus

Databases are accessible off-campus via your Active Directory credentials. Your Active Directory username is the first part of your email address. (For example, jsmith or john.smith).

To reset your AD password, visit the Berry MyApps Portal https://myapps.berry.edu. Here's instructions from IT.

Environmental Science and Studies

Librarian

Ways to Contact Memorial Library with Social Media (Nav Column)

General Databases with access to ESS journals

Subject-Specific Databases

Data Sources

Reference Sources

Access Databases Off-Campus