Faculty Book Collection

Linked from the days of their origins, psychology and advertising developed as independent disciplines at almost the same time in the late nineteenth century. Providing an important arena in which psychologists have tested methods and theories, advertising has been a stimulus for research and development in such diverse specialties as learning and behavioral decision theory, psychometrics, perception, and social and mathematical psychology. Psychology, in turn, has contributed a wide assortment of tools, theories, and techniques to the practice of advertising. These contributions have found their place in virtually all areas of advertising practice -- stimulating creativity, evaluating the creative product, and informing the scheduling of media. Purposely eclectic, this volume presents new issues in consumer psychology and advertising such as the relationship between gender differences, cortical organization and advertising; new approaches to old issues such as attention as an epiphenomenon, and meta-analysis of comparative advertising research; and new applications of consumer psychology to other fields such as examining health behavior as consumer behavior, affect and political advertising, and the relationship between advertising and eating disorders. This volume is the result of the Sixth Annual Advertising and Consumer Behavior Conference, which was designed to bring together researchers and practitioners from both psychology and advertising. Chapter contributions are made by professionals in advertising and marketing, professors in psychology and marketing departments, and psychologists who consult for advertising and marketing organizations. Thus, the chapters represent a microcosm of the type of interaction that has characterized the interface of psychology and advertising for more than a hundred years. Includes “The Role of Affect in Political Advertising: Voter Emotional Responses to the Nonverbal Behavior of Politicians” by Basil G. Englis.

A collection of cutting-edge essays by leading exponents of postmodern consumer research from Europe and America. Topics covered include: chronicle, composition and fabulation in consumer research, postmodern approaches to pluralism in consumer research, marketing in cyberspace, poststructuralism in marketing, semiotics in marketing and consumer research. Includes “Breaking Out of the Box: Is Lifestyle a Construct or a Construction" by Michael R. Solomon and Basil G. Englis.

This volume explores the complex relationship between emotion and advertising. The chapters include both theoretical and empirical contributions representing a broad spectrum of approaches and techniques. Some of the key topics explored include the measurement of mood, emotion and feeling in an advertising context, the effects of mood on recall and advertising effectiveness, the interaction of the message with the emotional make-up of the recipient, and the structural aspects of an ad and how they relate to emotional responses. Includes “Consumer Emotional Reactions to Television Advertising and Their Effects on Message Recall” by Basil G. Englis.

Gift Giving brings together 21 scholars from a variety of disciplines-including consumer behavior, communications, and sociology-who are dedicated to the understanding of what motivates gift selection, presentation, and incorporation of a gift into a person's life. Includes “Intergenerational Gift Giving in Subcultural Wedding Celebrations: The Ritual Audience as Cash Cow” by Mary Ann McGrath and Basil G. Englis.

Few applied disciplines are more sensitive to cross-cultural issues than marketing and consumer psychology. The chapters prepared for this volume reflect awareness of both similarities and differences within and across cultures. They include analyses of methodological issues, theoretical investigations of cultural and social values and their implications for marketing specialists, studies of gender- and sub-culture specific advertising, and investigations of advertising efforts in several different international markets. The scholars and advertising professionals who contributed these chapters will have much to say to consumer psychologists and marketing specialists alike.

This important Handbook explores new and emerging directions in both brand management research and practice. It encompasses a diverse set of approaches including the latest academic research offering new frameworks for understanding brand management, the researcher s perspective on current tools in practice by brand managers, new research and conceptual frameworks for understanding and managing customer experiences and recent empirical research and scale development in both brand and experience management. The book focuses on practical, managerial, and organizational best practices. The contributors comprise top marketing scholars and practitioners. They examine key topics such as brand attachment, brand permission, and brand meaning; new contextual factors such as digital convergence, target group multiplicity, and the rise of experience economies; and new research domains such as empirical tests of consumer experiences, incidental brand exposure, and brand naming. Includes “How Meanings Matter: Resonance as a Mediator of the Meaning  Strength  Value Brand Equity Chain” by Susan Fournier, Michael R. Solomon and Basil G. Englis.

The research and policy evaluations presented in these papers represent a uniquely valuable evolving record of policy and research on high technology small firms through many changes in economic conditions and government policy approaches over more the a decade and a half. Specific issues in the book series cover many of the key industrial development policies adopted by developed, and developing, national governments since the early 1990's including, for example, writings on policy and practice concerning science parks, incubators, academic enterprise, industrial networking and the role of clusters in nurturing high technology small firms formation and growth. In particular, the on-going problem of early stage high technology funding has been a theme of constant concern since 1993, and because it remains resistant to amelioration, will endure into the future. Both the conference and the ensuing book series represent a pre-eminent vehicle for all the major international researchers concerned with high technology small firms to present their work to each other and the wider public. Includes “Using knowledge management to gain competitive advantage in the textile and apparel value chain: A comparison small and large firms” by Paula D. Englis, Basil G. Englis, Michael R. Solomon and Laura Valentine.

The New Technology-Based Firms in the New Millenium series provides up to date research on a variety of aspects of High Technology Small Firm formation and growth (HTSFs) from a range of interdisciplinary perspectives and from national contexts throughout the world. This edited book series reflects on and shapes currently popular national government policies insofar as they relate to HTSFs. It is the only international publication specifically dealing with HTSF formation and growth and it uniquely provides an uninterrupted record of research in this area since 1993. In this latest volume three major themes have emerged. Six particularly strong chapters of this volume are devoted to the critical problems of HTSF financing, comprising two contributions from the United Kingdom and individual chapters from Sweden, the Irish Republic, Italy, and Belgium. A further four papers are concerned with aspects of strategic development in HTSFs, and a final group of three papers deal with HTSF marketing problems, often in a 'born global' strategic context.Includes “Knowledge-Intensive Entrepreneurship and the Voice-of-the-Consumer” by Basil G. Englis, Paula D. Englis, Aard Groen, and Peter van der Sijde

Online Consumer Psychology addresses many of the issues created by the Internet and goes beyond the topic of advertising and the Web to include topics such as customization, site design, word of mouth processes, and the study of consumer decision making while online. The theories and research methods help provide greater insight into the processes underlying consumer behavior in online environments. Broken into six sections, this book: focuses on community and looks at the Internet's ability to bring like-minded individuals from around the world into one forum; examines issues related to advertising, specifically click-through rates and advertising content placed within gaming online and wireless networks; provides readers with reasons why consumers customize products and the benefits of customization; discusses the psychological effects of site design; asks the question of whether the Internet empowers consumers to make better decisions; and discusses research tools that can be used online. Includes “Web-Based, Visually Oriented Consumer Research Tools” by Basil G. Englis, Michael R. Solomon, and Paula Danskin [Englis].

This volume synthesizes and advances existing knowledge of consumer response to visuals. Representing an interdisciplinary perspective, contributors include scholars from the disciplines of communication, psychology, and marketing. The book begins with an overview section intended to situate the reader in the discourse. The overview describes the state of knowledge in both academic research and actual practice, and provides concrete sources for scholars to pursue. Written in a non-technical language, this volume is divided into four sections: Image and Response - illustrates the difficulty encountered even in investigating the basic influences, processes, and effects of "mere exposure" to imagery. Image and Word - presents instances in which the line between words and pictures is blurred, such as the corporate logo which is often pictorial in nature but communicates on an abstract level usually attributed to words. Image and the Ad - contributes to our appreciation for the exquisite variations among advertising texts and the resultant variability in response, not only to different ads but among different viewers of the same ad. Image and Object - carries the inquiry of visual response over the bridge toward object interaction. Having traveled a path that has gone from the precise working of the brain in processing visual stimuli all the way to the history of classical architecture, readers of this volume will have a new respect for the complexity of human visual response and the research that is trying to explain it. It will be of interest to those involved in consumer behavior, consumer psychology, advertising, marketing, and visual communication. Image and the Ad - contributes to our appreciation for the exquisite variations among advertising texts and the resultant variability in response, not only to different ads but among different viewers of the same ad. Image and Object - carries the inquiry of visual response over the bridge toward object interaction. Having traveled a path that has gone from the precise working of the brain in processing visual stimuli all the way to the history of classical architecture, readers of this volume will have a new respect for the complexity of human visual response and the research that is trying to explain it. It will be of interest to those involved in consumer behavior, consumer psychology, advertising, marketing, and visual communication. Includes "No One Looks that Good in Real Life!': Projections of the Real Versus Ideal Self in the Online Visual Space" by Natalie T. Wood, Michael R. Solomon & Basil G. Englis.

The first book to focus on the political behavior of primates also undertakes to compare human social behavior with that of nonhuman primates. The editors contribute probing introductory essays to each of the three major parts of the volume in addition to their article-length introductory and concluding chapters. In his conclusion, Masters indicates directions for future work. Part I is devoted to theoretical clarification of the interrelationships between the study of primates and humans. Part II presents two examples of comparisons between animal and human social behavior that throw valuable light on contemporary political and social systems. Part III focuses more precisely on contemporary human politics, providing two concrete examples of ethological perspectives on human political behavior. In both cases, nonverbal cues studied by primatologists are shown to illuminate the dynamics of human politics. Includes “Facial Displays and Political Leadership: Some Experimental Findings" by Roger D. Masters, Denis G. Sullivan, John T. Lanzetta, Gregory J. McHugo and Basil G. Englis.

This book showcases papers presented at the annual Advertising and Consumer Psychology Conference. The contributors -- active scholars with both practitioner and academic backgrounds -- share an interest in the general area of psychographics, values, and lifestyle in advertising. The interdisciplinary and international mix of authors bring a diverse perspective to this volume, which is divided into four nonorthogonal sections. The first section deals with theoretical and conceptual issues in advertising research, while the second section presents chapters devoted to improving methodology. The final two sections illustrate how value, lifestyle, and psychographic research have been used to understand differences among people. The first of these final two sections emphasizes differences among people at different times (commonly called trend research), and the second emphasizes differences among people across national boundaries. Collectively, these chapters illustrate how practical state-of-the-art research in values, lifestyles, and psychographics can be. Thoughtful consideration of values, lifestyles, and psychographics as they are manifested in quality research can improve advertising and marketing practice, and can help the business community deliver products and services that are more in line with consumers' needs. Includes “Where Perception Meets Reality: The Social Construction of Lifestyles” by Basil G. Englis and Michael R. Solomon.

The sixth edition of Entrepreneurship and Small Firms has been fully revised and updated with contributions from leading academics in the field. Retaining the popular style of the previous editions and offering a clear and accessible introduction to the topic, this book provides a thorough coverage of entrepreneurial and small firm theory, concepts, evidence, policy and practice. Integrating academic theory with the day-to-day realities that entrepreneurs may encounter it furnishes the student with a comprehensive analysis of entrepreneurship. This well established text is justly popular for its clear and accessible approach, presenting the key topics of an entrepreneurship module in an engaging yet rigorous style. The book covers wide ranging topics from the economic influences on entrepreneurship and sources of finance, to issues of diversity, family business and social entrepreneurship. New to this edition is a chapter on Corporate Entrepreneurship offering students a unique insight into entrepreneurship activities in larger businesses and organizations. A reorganized chapter structure for the sixth edition allows students to navigate the four parts of the text from introductory concepts, the domains of entrepreneurship, through to strategy and to implementation. New part cases help to highlight the core themes and apply them to real business scenarios. The new edition retains a wealth of examples and cases throughout the chapters which illustrate entrepreneurship in action.

This expansive and practical Handbook introduces the methods currently used to increase the understanding of the usefulness and versatility of a systematic approach to qualitative research in entrepreneurship. It fills a crucial gap in the literature on entrepreneurship theory, and, just as importantly, illustrates how these principles and techniques can be appropriately and fruitfully employed. The Handbook is underpinned by the belief that qualitative research has the potential to charter hitherto unexplored waters in the field of entrepreneurship and thus contribute significantly to its further advancement. The contributors seek to assist entrepreneurship researchers in making more informed choices and designing more rigorous and sophisticated studies. They achieve this by providing concrete examples of research experiences and tangible how to advice. By clarifying what these research methods entail, how they are currently being used and how they can be evaluated, this Handbook constitutes a comprehensive and highly accessible methodological toolbox. Dealing with both well-accepted qualitative approaches and lesser-known, rarer and more novel approaches to the study of entrepreneurship, this Handbook will be invaluable to those studying, researching and teaching entrepreneurship.

The New Technology-Based Firms in the New Millenium series provides up to date research on a variety of aspects of High Technology Small Firm formation and growth (HTSFs) from a range of interdisciplinary perspectives and from national contexts throughout the world. This edited book series reflects on and shapes currently popular national government policies insofar as they relate to HTSFs. It is the only international publication specifically dealing with HTSF formation and growth and it uniquely provides an uninterrupted record of research in this area since 1993. In this latest volume three major themes have emerged. Six particularly strong chapters of this volume are devoted to the critical problems of HTSF financing, comprising two contributions from the United Kingdom and individual chapters from Sweden, the Irish Republic, Italy, and Belgium. A further four papers are concerned with aspects of strategic development in HTSFs, and a final group of three papers deal with HTSF marketing problems, often in a 'born global' strategic context.Includes “Knowledge-Intensive Entrepreneurship and the Voice-of-the-Consumer” by Basil G. Englis, Paula D. Englis, Aard Groen, and Peter van der Sijde

Online Consumer Psychology addresses many of the issues created by the Internet and goes beyond the topic of advertising and the Web to include topics such as customization, site design, word of mouth processes, and the study of consumer decision making while online. The theories and research methods help provide greater insight into the processes underlying consumer behavior in online environments. Broken into six sections, this book: focuses on community and looks at the Internet's ability to bring like-minded individuals from around the world into one forum; examines issues related to advertising, specifically click-through rates and advertising content placed within gaming online and wireless networks; provides readers with reasons why consumers customize products and the benefits of customization; discusses the psychological effects of site design; asks the question of whether the Internet empowers consumers to make better decisions; and discusses research tools that can be used online. Includes “Web-Based, Visually Oriented Consumer Research Tools” by Basil G. Englis, Michael R. Solomon, and Paula Danskin [Englis].

The objective for this volume is to stimulate additional conceptualizations and research in the very broad area of international management. The insightful chapters presented here show not only the challenges involved in understanding such a complex domain, but additionally show that substantial progress is being made to untangle the various complexities.

A transition economy is an economy which is changing from a planned economy to a free market. Transition economies undergo economic liberalisation (letting market forces set prices and lowering trade barriers), macroeconomic stabilisation where immediate high inflation is brought under control, and restructuring and privatisation in order to create a financial sector and move from public to private ownership of resources. These changes often may lead to increased inequality of incomes and wealth, dramatic inflation and a fall of GDP. Transition process is usually characterised by the changing and creating of institutions, particularly private enterprises; changes in the role of the state, thereby, the creation of fundamentally different governmental institutions and the promotion of private-owned enterprises, markets and independent financial institutions. This new book presents the latest research from around the world in this field.

Transnational entrepreneurs are individuals who migrate from one country to another, concurrently maintaining business-related linkages with their countries of origin and their adopted countries and communities. Once thought of as contributing primarily to ethnic enterprise and small business, they are recognized now as playing a leading role around the world in important start-ups and high technology ventures. Transnational and Immigrant Entrepreneurship in a Globalized World brings together leading international scholars from a cross-disciplinary basis to examine the economic, social, regulatory, technological, and theoretical issues related to the impact of transnational entrepreneurs on business and economic development. Drawing on the work of French sociologist Pierre Bourdieu and other international perspectives, the scholars in this volume examine both theory and case studies to discuss how entrepreneurial activity relates to international business, economic development, and the institutional and regulatory implications of globalization.

A synthesis of practical examples from the real world of health care on the use of process or design features to prevent medical errors or the negative impact of errors. It contains over 150 examples of mistake-proofing that can be applied in health care—and in many cases relatively inexpensively. An important addition to patient safety literature, this work draws on examples contributed by clinicians in the field as well as research from several academic disciplines. The focus is on what works to reduce medical errors for the in-the-trenches workers who face important decisions, judgments, and risks every day while performing their jobs. This volume draws on the groundbreaking writings of Shingo Shingeo, innovative solutions from nurses at a regional medical center, architects in the center of the current hospital design revolution, and many others.

The Economic Freedom of the World (EFW) index has annually provided a measure of the consistency of a nation's policies and institutions with economic freedom. With data going back to 1970 and coverage of over 100 countries, the EFW index has become an important tool for scholars studying a wide range of economic and social outcomes around the world. This book highlights contributions made to this literature that were published originally in one of the most important journals in this field, the Journal of Private Enterprise, bringing together a wide variety of studies on the role of economic freedom on economic growth, income equality, political freedom and other social goals.

In Homer Economicus a cast of lively contributors takes a field trip to Springfield, where the Simpsons reveal that economics is everywhere. By exploring the hometown of television's first family, this book provides readers with the economic tools and insights to guide them at work, at home, and at the ballot box. Since The Simpsons centers on the daily lives of the Simpson family and its colorful neighbors, three opening chapters focus on individual behavior and decision-making, introducing readers to the economic way of thinking about the world. Part II guides readers through six chapters on money, markets, and government. A third and final section discusses timely topics in applied microeconomics, including immigration, gambling, and health care as seen in The Simpsons. Reinforcing the nuts and bolts laid out in any principles text in an entertaining and culturally relevant way, this book is an excellent teaching resource that will also be at home on the bookshelf of an avid reader of pop economics.

Divergent thinking and brainstorming in perspective : implications for organization change and innovation / Emmanuel M. Kalargiros, Michael R. Manning
Brings forth the latest scholarly work and practice in the fields of organization development and organizational change. The objectives are to highlight the latest advances in thought, ideally supported by research and practice. The series is a resource for scholars who are interested in well-integrated reviews of the literature, advances in research methods, and ideas about practice that open new ways of working with organizations to create more successful and sustainable approaches to change.

Where did all the free family firm labor go? Women's changing role and inclusion in the U.S. economy / Eric R. Kushins and Myriam Quispe-Agnoli
----------
The Power of Inclusion in Family Business is a guide for grooming the next generation of responsible women owners, so they can thrive, achieve, and become leaders and wealth stewards in their multigenerational family businesses and family offices. We aspire to help enterprising families come across the power of including valuable women pertaining to the business-owning family in the family firm management, governance, ownership, and investment structures. In this book, outstanding global family business scholars and practitioners from 10 different countries, come together to serve a common purpose: provide novel insights, gender sensitive-consulting practices and culturally-adapted recommendations to advance the daughters' inclusion challenge and to shape a more inclusive family-in-business and family firm environment.

Developing a ‘Sociological Imagination’ of Families in Family Business Research / Eric Kushins and Elaina Behounek
----------
Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. Top international contributors explore farsighted theories, methods and topics, often taking a multi-disciplinary approach in order to outline the potential routes for further advancing family business research. Chapters cover the significance of new family trends, entrepreneurial legacy, board diversity, spatial-familiness, corruption, innovation and digital business transformation, challenging core assumptions surrounding the family business phenomenon and mapping the future of the discipline.

Taxing "sin" is one of the oldest and most persistent forms of selective taxation. Founding Father and Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton is said to have imposed a tax on whiskey "before the ink on the US Constitution was dry." Motivated as much by a need to increase revenues as by a desire to do good, politicians often claim that "sin taxes" will fund projects that promote public health as well as curb unhealthy behavior. Yet sin taxes often represent inefficient public policy and may lead to a host of ill effects and unintended consequences that fail to improve public health and disproportionately hurt the poor. Although selective taxes are politically more popular than other forms of taxation, states that need to raise revenue can find more efficient ways to do so--such as by lowering the tax rate and broadening the tax base. Sin taxes simply don't deliver as advertised: they distort rather than curb undesirable behavior, they have unintended (and harmful) consequences, and they disproportionately hurt low-income taxpayers. And they don't improve public health. In For Your Own Good: Taxes, Paternalism, and Fiscal Discrimination in the Twenty-First Century, public budgeting and taxation experts Adam Hoffer and Todd Nesbit bring together the work of 25 scholars in the field of public choice economics to raise awareness of the consequences of selective taxation and encourage a better-informed debate over such policies. Brings together case studies on selective taxation and essays about public finance and public choice, the political economy of public budgeting, fiscal federalism, and the economics of the failing "nanny state." For Your Own Good provides the thorough analysis of selective taxation needed to motivate better policy and will serve as an indispensable resource to many public choice economists and public policy experts. Instructors of undergraduate courses in public policy and public economics will find it a useful guide, as will graduate students and academics studying political economy. Includes "Predatory public finance and the evolution of the war on drugs" by Bruce Benson and Brian Meehan and "Persecuting plastic bags" by E. Frank Stephenson.

Taxing "sin" is one of the oldest and most persistent forms of selective taxation. Founding Father and Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton is said to have imposed a tax on whiskey "before the ink on the US Constitution was dry." Motivated as much by a need to increase revenues as by a desire to do good, politicians often claim that "sin taxes" will fund projects that promote public health as well as curb unhealthy behavior. Yet sin taxes often represent inefficient public policy and may lead to a host of ill effects and unintended consequences that fail to improve public health and disproportionately hurt the poor. Although selective taxes are politically more popular than other forms of taxation, states that need to raise revenue can find more efficient ways to do so--such as by lowering the tax rate and broadening the tax base. Sin taxes simply don't deliver as advertised: they distort rather than curb undesirable behavior, they have unintended (and harmful) consequences, and they disproportionately hurt low-income taxpayers. And they don't improve public health. In For Your Own Good: Taxes, Paternalism, and Fiscal Discrimination in the Twenty-First Century, public budgeting and taxation experts Adam Hoffer and Todd Nesbit bring together the work of 25 scholars in the field of public choice economics to raise awareness of the consequences of selective taxation and encourage a better-informed debate over such policies. Brings together case studies on selective taxation and essays about public finance and public choice, the political economy of public budgeting, fiscal federalism, and the economics of the failing "nanny state." For Your Own Good provides the thorough analysis of selective taxation needed to motivate better policy and will serve as an indispensable resource to many public choice economists and public policy experts. Instructors of undergraduate courses in public policy and public economics will find it a useful guide, as will graduate students and academics studying political economy. Includes "Predatory public finance and the evolution of the war on drugs" by Bruce Benson and Brian Meehan and "Persecuting plastic bags" by E. Frank Stephenson.

When Teammates are a Drag: The Effect of "Spingate" on the Benefit of NASCAR Drivers Having Teammates / E.F. Stephenson & S. Jenkins
----------
Offering a cutting-edge analysis of competitive balance and outcome uncertainty, this book explores the topic from multiple perspectives. Chapters address competitive balance and outcome uncertainty in different sports in a range of countries to help understand its significance. Highlighting important new insights into previously unexplored dimensions, the book also provides a rich context for better understanding why fans, teams and leagues value competitive balance. It challenges readers to think about the topic in a broad and rigorous way, and in some cases to question widely held beliefs about how outcome uncertainty motivates competitive balance and how sports fans actually view competitive balance.

Creating Public Value: An Examination of Technological Social Enterprise / Thema Monroe-White
----------
Takes an inside-out approach to examine the broad topic of social entrepreneurship. Instead of looking inward at what social entrepreneurship is, this book looks forward from the view of successful social entrepreneurs to answer the important question, "Where is social entrepreneurship going next?" First, the volume looks at the essential qualities of social entrepreneurs, including the importance of humility as a trait in the social entrepreneur, the way in which social entrepreneurs define themselves as such, and if and how opportunity recognition differs in social and traditional entrepreneurs. Next, the volume looks at the impact of social entrepreneurial businesses on individuals but also on the supply chain, other businesses and the wider community. Next, the book explores social entrepreneurship and global change. This rare and compelling section, offers key insights and lessons in the development and promotion of social entrepreneurship in the global economy. This volume addresses both theory and research, suggesting practical solutions. It engages scholars and practitioners across disciplines in an examination and debate about various methods and approaches of enacting programs of social change.

An Updated Quantitative Assessment of Kerlin’s Macro-Institutional Social Enterprise Framework / Thema Monroe-White and M. Coskun
----------
Offers the first tested framework that helps identify institutional influences affecting social enterprise. For well over a decade, scholars and practitioners have known that social enterprise looks different in different contexts but few have attempted to understand why. Kerlin's work in this area is the first to consider the influence of large institutions such as government, economy, civil society, and culture on the development of social enterprise. This book provides an in-depth assessment of Kerlin's theoretically-based framework for understanding these institutional and other influences by means of quantitative analysis as well as qualitative critiques from eight countries that help validate and refine it. The concluding chapter offers a revision of the framework based on the critiques. New features include more attention to culture and micro- and meso-level forces as well as the introduction of optional framework components that address rarely occurring country situations. Two new social enterprise country models are also added and new applications of the framework are detailed.

Social Innovation in the Zoo / Thema Monroe-White and J. Lecy
Habitats in the Zoo / J. Kerlin, Thema Monroe-White and S. Zook
----------The Social Enterprise Zoo employs the metaphor of the zoo to gain a more comprehensive understanding of social enterprise: the diversity of its forms; the various ways it is organized in different socio-political environments; how different forms of enterprise behave, interact, and thrive; and what lessons can be drawn for the future development and study of organizations that seek to balance social or environmental impact with economic success. After setting the stage with a thorough introduction, top scholars explore the different ways that social enterprises can be classified, nurtured, and understood.