Geology

Established in 1974 as an open archive in which authors of articles in GSA journals and books could place information that supplemented and/or expanded on their article.

Collaborative scientific data and information management platform used directly by science teams, ScienceBase provides access to aggregated information derived from many data and information domains, including feeds from existing data systems, metadata catalogs, and scientists contributing new and original content.

Directory of descriptions of data sets of relevance to global change. Topics include aerosols, air quality, altitude, atmospheric chemistry, electricity, phenomena, pressure, radiation, temperature, wind/clouds/precipitation, glaciers/ice sheets, groundwater, snow/ice, surface water, and water quality/water chemistry.

Includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.

Alphabetical list of minerals with formula, crystal system, pictures, rarity, type locality, etc.

A suite of data systems that assist Geoscientists with accessing, sharing, and using geochemical, petrological, and geochronological data. EarthChem systems ensure open and persistent access to quality controlled data and provide advanced capabilities for data mining and data analysis. EarthChem was established in 2005 and has been a part of the NSF-funded IEDA Data Facility since 2010. Access to data systems and services for geochemical, geochronological, and petrological data, developed and maintained by EarthChem, including the EarthChem Library, the EarthChem Portal, PetDB, NAVDAT, SedDB, and Geochron.

Collection of published analyses of volcanic rocks and mantle xenoliths. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. Samples come from 11 different geological settings. Metadata include, among others, geographic location with latitude and longitude, rock class and rock type, alteration grade, analytical method, laboratory, reference materials and references.

NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. Through the Center for Weather and Climate and the Center for Coasts, Oceans, and Geophysics, we provide over 25 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.