Research Resources - RHW 102 Dr. Chris Diller - First Year Seminar in Writing

Issues and Controversies

If your topic is currently in the news, you can use these resources to get an overview of the topic, including pro/con, important statistics, resources, etc.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news.
Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles, news coverage, pro/con arguments,chronologies.
Explore current issues and events with in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates. Topic pages feature the latest related news coverage from Reuters® as well as a variety of helpful background information, from the key pro/con arguments to chronologies of related events to primary documents. Updated weekly.

General Research Databases

These databases provide access to the widest range of articles from journals, magazines, and other resources. Start here for most research projects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on all subjects.
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's databases:

• Education Full Text
• General Science Full Text
• Humanities Full Text
• Readers' Guide Full Text
• Social Sciences Full Text
• Wilson Business Full Text

Also included is the full text from ONLY the journals to which Wilson has full-text rights that are in the following five databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Coverage Dates: 1982 - present

All Databases

Research Databases A-Z
The Library subscribes to more than 200 databases of information of all kinds. Search the listing of our available databases by title or subject to find resources for your area of interest.

Background Information Resources

These resources offer our most comprehensive set of reference books from a variety of disciplines.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Quick reference coverage of all subjects.
Combines quick reference coverage of a full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions.
WorldCat Discovery (Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window
►Search results will include books & ebooks, book chapters & articles (mostly scholarly), videos, and other sources.
►Refine search results by checking format, content, topic, etc.
►Books & articles available electronically will usually (but not always!) have a View Now button.
►Use the Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan button to get books & articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection.

Access Databases Off-Campus

Databases are accessible off-campus via your Active Directory credentials. Your Active Directory username is the first part of your email address. (For example, jsmith or john.smith).

To reset your AD password, visit the Berry MyApps Portal https://myapps.berry.edu. Here's instructions from IT.