Research Resources - RHW 102 Melissa King - First-Year Seminar in Writing

General Research Databases

These databases provide access to the widest range of articles from journals, magazines, and other resources. Start here for most research projects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

All Databases

Other Resources

These are some of the other great resources that can help you find what you're looking for.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Quick reference coverage of all subjects.
Combines quick reference coverage of a full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions.

Journal Locator
A complete list of all of Memorial Library's journals & magazines, by title.

WorldCat Discovery (Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window
►Search results will include books & ebooks, book chapters & articles (mostly scholarly), videos, and other sources.
►Refine search results by checking format, content, topic, etc.
►Books & articles available electronically will usually (but not always!) have a View Now button.
►Use the Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan button to get books & articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection.

Access Databases Off-Campus

Databases are accessible off-campus via your Active Directory credentials. Your Active Directory username is the first part of your email address. (For example, jsmith or john.smith).

To reset your AD password, visit the Berry MyApps Portal https://myapps.berry.edu. Here's instructions from IT.