Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Stonewall Book Awards @ Memorial Library

The first and most enduring award for LGBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table.

Stonewall Award Books @ Memorial Library

Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first Stonewall Book Award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience. Currently, the Barbara Gittings Literature Award, Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award, and the Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference. 

Many Stonewall Award recipients, finalists, and honor books are available in Memorial Library.