Student Life Collection

Designed to help you take a mindful approach to these commonplance experiences and activities, making them more enjoyable, fulfilling, and relaxing. Walking is the perfect activity for reflecting and relaxing. Approached mindfully, it can provide a window of calm in our everyday routine. And yet we tend to focus on simply getting from A to B, giving little thought to how this time might be used more productively. 5-Minute Mindfulness: Walking contains thought-provoking essays and short exercises that will help you follow the path to inner calm while on the move as well as meditations that can be completed in just five minutes.

Life is unpredictable. Rather than being wiped out by the inevitable storms, Calm Through Chaos shows us we can learn to ride the waves of life and thrive with dignity and grace.

You know those days when you just can't even? When everything is haywire and everyone, including yourself, seems to be against you, not to mention against reason? Your to-do list is a mile long, your kid is sick, traffic sucks, and you just spilled coffee all over yourself as you were about to walk out the door? How do you cope? Most of us don't have great coping skills, and turn instead to addictions, zoning out, or freaking out. Dr. Faith offers a range of healthier strategies for getting through tough moments, gaining perspective, and shifting your attitude.

Why spend one life worrying . . . when you could spend nine lives napping? Take it from artist Jamie Shelman's wry and furry felines: Cats work reasonable hours (zero), love wisely (from a distance), and live boldly (until someone starts vacuuming). Don't go without these 100 sage lessons: Be specially attentive to the one person who doesn't like you. Get away with murder by looking cute. Ignore anyone who doesn't worship you. Be pleased with your achievements, however small. The best solution to a problem is a nap. Live better--live like your cat!

Anxiety transforms from a crutch into an ally with this empowering self-help guide to mastering fear. Caroline Foran is not here to "cure" your anxiety. When crippling panic attacks upended her job, her health, and her life, she tried everything--from Cognitive Behavioral Therapy to acupuncture, and yoga to medication. She found that there's no such thing as a stress-free life . . . but, armed with the right tool kit, she could live with anxiety, and not spend her days running away from it. In Own It., Caroline shares her hard-earned knowledge and kick-*ss strategies, including: A panic attack rescue guide The Assess & Address technique (how to get to the root of the problem) The brain chemistry behind anxiety (and how to outsmart it) How to break down the negativity bias. Drawing on her lived experience, plus insights from mental-health professionals, Caroline will help you ditch your fear and anxiety--and own it!

An insightful, inspired guide to the undergraduate experience that helps students balance the joy of learning with the necessity of career preparation. Features a wealth of advice for getting the most from an undergraduate education, especially in the areas of arts and humanities, written by an experienced educator and mentor. Covers the entire undergraduate experience, from high school preparation, applications, financial aid, each undergraduate year from freshman to senior, course selection, and extra-curricular activities, to independent study, honors essays, graduate school, dissertations, and career searches. Discusses the benefits of pursuing an arts and humanities degree including how to write effectively, speak articulately, and think critically and discusses how to balance the joy and practicality of education in terms of getting vocationally-focused qualifications.

For 10 years (and counting), The Naked Roommate has been the #1 go-to guide for your very best college experience! From sharing a bathroom with 40 strangers to sharing lecture notes, The Naked Roommate is your behind-the-scenes look at EVERYTHING you need to know about college (but never knew you needed to know). Hilarious, outrageous, and telling stories from students on over 100 college campuses cover the basics, and then some

Combines easy-to-use tips, techniques, and strategies with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. The over 800 tips in this book will show you how to: pick courses and choose a major, manage your time and develop college-level study skills, get good grades and manage the "core" requirements, get motivated and avoid stress interact effectively with your professors.

The practical advice you'll need to address the physical, social, and psychological challenges associated with becoming a college student. In this guide, you'll learn basic skills for living on your own, managing your money, asserting yourself, establishing boundaries, and keeping yourself safe in new social situations.This guide will help you approach your new college lifestyle with confidence, self-awareness, and the tools you need to take care of yourself and succeed throughout your college career.

In this entertaining and informative book, Dana Johnson shares wisdom and wit gleaned from her decades of experience as an award-winning teacher in the college classroom--lessons that will continue to serve you long after college graduation. She reveals how to maximize what you learn and develop good relationships with your professors, while explaining how you fit into the learning environment of college. Johnson provides tactical tips on getting the most out of office hours, e-mailing your professor appropriately, optimizing your performance on assignments and exams, using the syllabus to your advantage, knowing how to address your instructors, and making sure you're not violating the academic ethics code.

This encouraging guide coaches African American and first-generation college students on strategies for maximizing their experiences and success on university campuses. * Offers strategies to assist African American students with succeeding in college * Reveals stories of African American graduates and tips for assimilating into an academic environment * Provides detailed and updated resources on schools and organizations * Explains logistics, operations, and terms used on college campuses

Provides Latino students with a step-by-step roadmap for navigating the college process--from overcoming cultural barriers to attending college, to selecting the right school, to considering advanced degrees. * A nationwide directory of the top 50 universities and top 20 community colleges from which Latinos have graduated * Inspirational stories about academic success written by Latino graduates * A listing of helpful websites for finding financial aid forms, college applications, and more * Sources for scholarships geared towards Latino students

An invaluable guide for potential collegiate student athletes, this guide presents strategies to assist student athletes with life skills both inside and outside of the classroom and athletic arenas. * Represents a unique resource that supports the success of collegiate athletes * Covers specific topics and situations that are relevant to collegiate athletes, from recruiting to post-athletic involvement * Shares real-world stories that document the experiences of former collegiate athletes * Provides details and resources on schools and organizations