Animal Science

The availability of bovine genome sequences has opened new research avenues for cattle biodiversity and diseases. Cattle also have a critical role in climate change, land degradation and water shortage. This new book presents current research in the immunity, nutrition, fertility and diseases of cattle. Topics include innate and acquired immunity; epigenetics, nutrogenomics and metagenomics; hormone regulation of bull fertility; diseases like abomasal displacement; and ozone and clinoptilolit as disease treatments.

Current research in the study of the behavior, classification and diseases relating to the feline species.

Describes the key diseases that can have an impact on goat health and welfare worldwide, providing information on diagnosis, treatment, prognosis, management and control. Covers basic anatomy, common breeds and husbandry. Offers the common differential diagnoses, followed by the specific diagnosis and recommended treatments.

Using a conceptual approach, Animal Behavior: Concepts, Methods, and Applications focuses on the process of scientific inquiry and applications, rather than the rote memorization of facts. Guiding students through real-world examples, the text illustrates concepts through excerpts from primaryliterature while emphasizing methods used in each example.

A comprehensive resource to understand the behavioral considerations for intake, management, and rehoming of dogs and cats Animal Behavior for Shelter Veterinarians and Staff provides readers with comprehensive information addressing the behavior of both animals and humans associated with the intake, management, and rehoming of dogs and cats. To aid in practical application, the book covers specific behavior considerations in both dogs and cats. Topics are separated by animal to allow for easy accessibility by professionals who are actively working in the field. Sample topics covered within the book include: The behavior issues that are a common cause of pet relinquishment Behavioral assessment, behavior modification, the integration of behavioral well-being into sheltering Welfare assessment, psychopharmacology, safety net programs, and caring for animals during long-term legal holds Equine care and caring for small mammals Animal Behavior for Shelter Veterinarians and Staff is a must-have reference for evidence-based practical tips, techniques, and protocols for everyday use in animal shelters by shelter volunteers and staff, as well as professional trainers, behaviorists, and veterinarians working with shelters.

The sixth edition of this best-selling textbook continues to provide a thorough overview of behavior and welfare of companion and farm animals, including fish. New and revised chapters on climate change and sustainability, ethics, and philosophy to ensure that the book provides the latest information in a changing world; New information on human interactions with other animal species, big data, modern technologies, brain function, emotions and behavior; Solutions and advice for common abnormal behaviors.

Provides readers with a better understanding of canine science, including evolutionary concepts, ethograms, brain structures and development, sensory perspectives, the science of emotions, social structure, and the natural history of the species. The book also analyzes relationships between humans and dogs and how the latter has evolved. Readers will find this to be an ideal resource for researchers and students in animal behavior, specifically focusing on dog behavior and human-canine relationships. In addition, veterinarians seeking further information on dog behavior and the social temperament of these companion animals will find this book to be informative.

Provides a complete understanding of the normal behavior of domestic animals Covers dogs, cats, horses, pigs, sheep, cattle, and goats Describes all key aspects of animal behavior, with images to support the concepts.

Brings together the science-based disciplines of animal behavior and welfare to discuss how knowledge of one area (behavior) can be used to promote the other. Emphasis is on cattle and horses, but swine, sheep, and goats are also covered. Basic behavior as it applies to handling is discussed, with differences noted between species. The connections of behavior and handling are covered, and practical applications discussed. Incorporates a clear, approachable style for researchers and practitioners alike, facilitating understanding of the techniques described.

The second edition is fully revised, expanded, and comprehensively updated with the most current knowledge about the full array of mental health issues seen in animals. Written by key opinion leaders, internationally-recognized experts and specialists, it is comprehensive, covering basic principles to mental wellness, emotional distress, suffering and mental illness, through to measurement and treatment. With even more practical information and clinical pearls, this book remains invaluable to veterinary professionals, animal welfare researchers and advocates, and other animal caregivers.

Focuses on ethical issues connected to animals who play an extremely important role in human lives: companion animals ("pets"), with a special emphasis on dogs and cats, the animals most often chosen as pets. Companion animals are both vulnerable to and dependent upon us. What responsibilities do we owe to them, especially since we have the power and authority to make literal life-and-death decisions about them? What kinds of relationships should we have with our companion animals? And what might we learn from cats and dogs about the nature and limits of our own morality?

Problem behaviors are often the result of how an animal thinks and feels, genetics, and environmental influences. Steering away from only description diagnoses and focusing instead on emotional and cognitive causes, this book provides a practical approach to diagnosing, treating, and managing behavior pathologies in dogs and cats. Beginning by addressing cases in the first visit, this book then considers physical disorders that may lead to or exacerbate abnormal behavior. From there, the focus shifts to mental and emotional health, from an assessment of normal behavior and giving juveniles an optimal start in life, to diagnosing mental and emotional disorders, addressing emotions such as anxiety and frustration, and how to manage these issues - by modifying behavior, managing the animal's environment, training, and, when necessary, the use of medications. The second half of the book then addresses owner concerns, including management problems, aggression, affective disorder, elimination disorder, abnormal and repetitive behaviors and aging-related problems. With an emphasis on helping first line veterinarians identify common presentations and offer help to owners, this book: - Addresses both normal and abnormal behavior in cats and dogs from an emotion and cognition perspective; - Provides behavior modification protocols, and drug doses and indications; - Includes handouts to be used both within the practice and with clients to help the veterinary surgeon manage the case. Written by international experts, the book translates their insights and experience into approaches taken in behavioral medicine. Also including the most up-to-date drugs, it is an important resource for both small animal veterinarians and students of veterinary medicine or animal behavior.

A selection of White Papers, commissioned to better inform the exploration of cattle welfare. Provides an in-depth picture of the distinctive beef and dairy cattle welfare practices and issues, covering topics such as behavior, breeding and genetic manipulation, nutrition and feeding, housing and management, health and disease, and transport and slaughter. Includes a section on understanding and managing animal welfare in both beef and dairy cattle, discussing how cattle perceive the world, animal handling and pain mitigation, and how to assure that the cows have a reasonably good life.

Recent advances in biochemistry, physiology and anatomy provide the foundation to understand how nutrients are utilized by ruminants and non-ruminants. The text begins with an overview of the physiological and biochemical bases of animal nutrition, followed by a detailed description of chemical properties of carbohydrates, lipids, protein, and amino acids. It advances to the coverage of the digestion, absorption, transport, and metabolism of macronutrients, energy, vitamins, and minerals in animals. To integrate the basic knowledge of nutrition with practical animal feeding, the book continues with discussion on nutritional requirements of animals for maintenance and production, as well as the regulation of food intake by animals. Feed additives, including those used to enhance animal growth and survival, improve feed efficiency for protein production, and replace feed antibiotics.

Explores the importance of good nutrition in ensuring an adequate standard of welfare for farm animals. How to recognize and deal with feeding problems in farm animals, when the animal's behaviour is indicating a deficiency, through oral stereotypes for example. Feeding farm animals effectively is rarely recognized for the major welfare issue that it is. We may assume that animals in intensive husbandry conditions have adequate feed, yet it is often too concentrated and designed primarily to immediately maximize production from the animals, in the form of growth, milk yield or reproduction. In extensive rangeland conditions adequate feed supply also cannot be assured, potentially leading to undernutrition with serious consequences for the health and even survival of livestock.