Animal Science

Takes a conceptual approach that highlights the process of science and the real-world applications of animal behavior research. In an engaging, question-driven style, Shawn E. Nordell and Thomas J.Valone offer readers a clear learning progression for understanding and evaluating empirical research examples. FOCUSES ON METHODOLOGY AND THE PROCESS OF SCIENCE. Featured studies illustrate each concept and emphasize research methods, immersing students in the process of animal behavior research. The authors clearly identify the research question, hypothesis, and prediction for each featured study and thendemonstrate how the methods allow the prediction to be tested. HIGHLIGHTS REAL-WORLD APPLICATIONS. To help students understand the broader significance of animal behavior research, each chapter contains examples of how various people and groups are applying the concepts to societal problems and issues.

Builds on the tradition of combining data from laboratory and field studies of animal behavior as a means of understanding the evolution and function of cognition. In keeping with contemporary terminology, cognition refers to a wide range of processes from modification of simple reflexes to abstract concept learning to social interactions to the expression of emotions, such as guilt. These are examined throughout the text in animal groups ranging from insects to great apes. A general theme across chapters is that the evolution of behavioral patterns is adaptive, thereby reflected in underlying neural structures. Many of the authors go on to examine the adaptive significance of a behavior in relation to a species ecological history in order to develop theories of cognitive evolution. These issues are becoming increasingly important in a world with rapidly changing environments to which all animals, including humans, must adjust.

Features the most comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the traditional disciplines that are so essential to a solid foundation in Animal Science: nutrition, digestion, feeds, genetics, reproduction, disease, and animal behavior. The text's comprehensive, non-traditional approach introduces the discipline as an ever-changing, integral part of every aspect of human existence. Author W. Stephen Damron not only presents thorough coverage of the major species and their respective concerns, he challenges readers to consider the many pressing interests relevant to Animal Science as it influences and is influenced by society today.

Up-to-date information on the diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, goats, and pigs. Comprehensive coverage includes the principles of clinical examination and making a diagnosis, along with specific therapy recommendations. For easier use, this edition has been divided into two volumes and restructured into a logical, anatomically based approach to disease. From internationally known veterinary experts Peter Constable, Kenneth Hinchcliff, Stanley Done, and Walter Groenberg, this book is the definitive, one-stop reference for farm animal and equine care. Comprehensive coverage includes information essential to any large-animal veterinarian, especially those working with horses, cattle, sheep, goats, or pigs. Coverage of diseases addresses major large-animal diseases of all countries, including foreign animal and emerging diseases.

Addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today.

Containing case studies that complement key material presented in the text, the vast range of this definitive Encyclopedia encompasses animal physiology; animal growth and development; animal behavior; animal reproduction and breeding; alternative approaches to animal maintenance; meat science and muscle biology; farmed animal welfare and bioethics; and food safety.

Easy-to-understand explanations of medical terminology and contains helpful learning features such as tips, case studies, and review questions. Describes medical terms with easy-to-understand explanations and phonetic spellings. Offers an updated edition of this practical guide to veterinary medical terminology. Contains real-world case studies, word lists, and review questions that are designed to promote active learning Includes new chapters on medical reports and case studies and large animals, as well as helpful memorization features.

Comprehensive reference for accurately recognizing small animal, exotic, and large animal breeds, with color photographs to aid in identification and important information for delivering veterinary care. Provides a reliable, veterinary-based guide to accurately recognizing breeds. Covers small, large, and exotic animal breeds. Emphasizes information targeted at daily veterinary practice. Presents full-color photographs for comparison and identification.

Designed to cover techniques for analysis of data in the animal sciences, this book provides a broad source of information for students and researchers.

An introductory text which assumes no previous knowledge of statistics. It starts with very basic methodology and builds on it to encompass some of the more advanced techniques that are currently used. Written in a non-mathematical way, the emphasis is on understanding the underlying concepts and correctly interpreting computer output, and not on working through mathematical formulae. results is an integral part of veterinary and animal science. This is the only book on statistics that is specifically written for veterinary science and animal science students, researchers and practitioners.