LibGuides: RHW 102 Dr. Edmonds- First-Year Seminar in Writing: Library Resources

General Research Databases

These databases provide access to the widest range of articles from journals, magazines, and other resources. Start here for most research projects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles, covering all academic subjects.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.

This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Coverage Dates: 1911 - present (full text); 1887 - present (abstracting and indexing)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, abstracts, comprehensive subject coverage.
Brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.
OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles on all subjects.
A multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's databases:

• Education Full Text
• General Science Full Text
• Humanities Full Text
• Readers' Guide Full Text
• Social Sciences Full Text
• Wilson Business Full Text

Also included is the full text from ONLY the journals to which Wilson has full-text rights that are in the following five databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Coverage Dates: 1982 - present

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

Issues and Controversies

If your topic is currently in the news, you can use these resources to get an overview of the topic, including pro/con, important statistics, resources, etc.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news.
Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
In-depth articles, news coverage, pro/con arguments,chronologies.
Explore current issues and events with in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates. Topic pages feature the latest related news coverage from Reuters® as well as a variety of helpful background information, from the key pro/con arguments to chronologies of related events to primary documents. Updated weekly.

Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

If you are looking for examples of immediate, first-hand accounts of a topic from people who experienced a certain time or event, here are some databases that can lead you to all kinds of primary source documents. While these databases vary by content, they all contain original documents from moments in history.

Advertising America: View print advertisements from the J. Walter Thompson collection online.
Age of Exploration: Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
AM Explorer: Cast a wide net of primary source documents by searching Adam Matthews more broadly.
Digital Public Library of America: The DPLA provides a platform for materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
Environmental Issues Online: Explore various perspectives of climate crisis and browse specific topics.
Food Studies Online: Explores how food shapes the world around us with examples of topics from organic farming, advertising, packaging, food security, and famine.