LibGuides: RHW 102 Dr. Edmonds- First-Year Seminar in Writing: Citation Information

Websites on MLA

Websites on MLA Style

MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center is a free companion to the MLA Handbook. The only official Web site devoted to MLA style, it provides the opportunity to submit your own questions, sample research papers, instructions on formatting research papers, teaching resources & tools for creating works-cited-list entries.
Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA Citation Style
Concordia University Library

MLA Style

Modern Language Association (MLA) Style

MLA style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. These resources offer examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Use the link below to access the MLA Handbook Plus on or off campus.

If you are looking for a specific reference list format, start with the Works-Cited-List Entries by Publication Format.
In-Text Citations provides an introduction to MLA's approach to brief, unobtrusive references that direct readers to the works-cited-list entries for the sources you consulted.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text of the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook plus the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature.

Most library databases will format citations in MLA format for you:

►On the database record for a book or article, look for links to Cite or Cite/Export.
►Choose MLA, then cut & paste the formatted citation into your document.

Or, use a reference management tool such as Zotero to create a database of your sources & automatically format citations.

Learn How to Use MLA Style

MLA Style 101
Explore the MLA template of core elements with this introductory course. Each of the nine videos highlight one of the elements—like author, version, or publisher—and provides guidance on how to find publication information in various types of sources.
MLA Style 101: Using the Practice Template
In this course you will learn how to use our practice template of core elements to assemble works-cited-list entries.
Quoting and Paraphrasing in MLA Format
Learn how to successfully paraphrase and quote from sources—and avoid plagiarism—in this detailed walk-through of the various ways to integrate quotations into prose.