Research Resources - KIN 270 Research Methods - Dr. Cassie Williamson-Reisdorph

Identifying Current Trends and Research Topics

Here are a few sources that you can use to identify current topics for your research. Your instructor may have additional resources that they recommend.

This guide assembles the basic tools you will need to research topics in kinesiology, exercise science, and sports administration. Please contact me with any questions using the Email Me link.

Core Kinesiology Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Citations may include links to full text content from Memorial Library, PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Set up a personal account to save searches & citations, create & share bibliographies and more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles and abstracts from journals in the field of sports and sports medicine.
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals. Although many of the titles are also included in Academic Search Complete, there are several titles unique to SPORTDiscus with Full Text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search scientific literature 1996-present.
Advanced tools include the ability to limit by article type and to analyze search results to see the most important citations first.

► TIP: You can find other databases relevant to research in kinesiology by using the Research Databases link on the Library Homepage.

Click on the dropdown menu labeled "All Subjects."
Choose "Kinesiology."
You will see a list of suggested databases for beginning your research. Databases labeled as "Best Bets" are an especially good place to start!

Other Research Resources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

► Use "Fulltext @ Berry College" links to access library's online subscriptions. If no "Fulltext @ Berry College" link appears, search the Journal Locator. Not all Berry library online content is reflected by the "Fulltext @ Berry College" link.

► TIP: Never pay for articles, theses, dissertations, or books! Use the free interlibrary loan service to request articles and books unavailable from Memorial Library. Get started with interlibrary loan with our guide.

Connecting to E-Resources
by Jessica Hornbuckle Last Updated Sep 9, 2024 75 views this year

The Guide above, provides a core set of tools for accessing library resources from off campus.