Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Theory

Research guide for ANT/SOC 300, Dr. Lewinson

Bibliographies, Citing References and Related Articles

As you identify useful sources, take advantage of several techniques to expand your pool of potential books and articles.

Bibliographies

Scholarly articles and books always include reference lists. Of course you can find those bibliographies at the original source - often including links to full text - but many databases also provide links.

Citing References

If you find an article or book useful, chances are you will also want to take a look at other authors who found it useful. Soc Abstracts, Google Scholar and many other databases provide a "cited by" link that will take you to a list of books and articles that include the item of interest in their bibliographies. (Unfortunately, Anthro Plus does not have this capability.)

Many scholarly publishers also provide cited reference linking from articles in their journals. 

These article metrics can also give you a sense of the importance of an article. For example, a 2021 that already has citations is likely to be important, while a 1990 article that few others have cited should raise questions about its scholarly reception.

Related Articles

Most databases - and many scholarly journal publishers - use your search terms or selected article to suggest other searches to try. Look for "Related Articles" (Google Scholar) or "Other Searches to Try" (Soc Abstracts).