This is the "Home" page of the "Martha Berry and the Berry Schools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Martha Berry and the Berry Schools   Tags: berry college, berry family, georgia, historical, history, martha berry, women  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.berry.edu/marthaberry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Martha Berry

photo from the Berry College Archives

 

Oak Hill & The Martha Berry Museum

Oak Hill is the home of Martha Berry. The museum's mission is to tell the story of Martha Berry and Berry College through exhibits, events, and educational programming.

 

Biography

Martha Berry: Founder of the Berry Schools

Martha Berry’s life work centered on educating Appalachian mountain children so that they could progress in life.

Martha McChesney Berry was born on Turkey Town Plantation in Etowah County, Alabama on October 7, 1865. She was the second oldest daughter of Thomas and Frances Rhea Berry. In 1900, Martha began her Sunday schools and day schools in the Rome area, including one at Possum Trot, a one-room chapel up in the mountains.

On January 13, 1902, Berry established the Boys Industrial School, the start of a forty-year long project that would expand and evolve into today’s Berry College. The School for Boys began as a boarding school where boys with significant financial need came to work and learn. In 1909, Berry added the Martha Berry School for Girls. All of the schools were focused on Martha Berry’s ideal of educating the “Head, Heart and Hands” (education, faith, and work).

Martha Berry put enormous time and energy into the creation and support of her schools, travelling across the United States for fundraising. Friends and supporters included Henry and Clara Ford, presidents of the United States, Amelia Earhart, and many others. Throughout her life, Martha Berry was committed to a number of causes and organizations, and was presented with numerous awards and achievements. Martha Berry died on February 27, 1942 in Atlanta, Georgia.

 

Archival Materials@Berry College

Martha Berry Digital Archive

The Martha Berry Digital Archive (MBDA) Project initiated in fall 2010 with the aim of digitizing and exposing for public and scholarly use the complete set of documents housed within the Martha Berry Collection. The collection is freely available, interactive, and searchable educational resource designed to enable teachers, researchers, students, and members of the larger community to study and learn from it.

Go to MBDA | Information about the project


The Martha Berry Collection in the Berry College Archives

The Martha Berry papers contain office correspondence, subject files, a copy of Martha Berry's last will and testament, newspaper clippings about Martha Berry and the Berry Schools, and several manuscripts and speeches. The oldest materials are letters dating back to the beginning of the schools in 1902. The bulk of the collection dates from 1922-1941. The largest volume of material is office correspondence.

More about the collection | Information about the Archives

     

    Other Archival Collections

    Material in other Archival Collections 

    • Benson Ford Research Center at the Henry Ford Museum
      Martha Berry and Clara Bryant Ford maintined a regular correspondance; the Fords and the Ford Motor Company were benefactors of the Berry Schools. The Berry Schools Collections is primarily composed of a detached album of black and white photographs of Martha Berry, Berry School students, classroom activities, and the college campus. Other collections of interest include the David Lanier Lewis papers, Engineering Laboratory Office records, the Engineering Library Vertical File, and the General Personal records series. 
    • Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library, Emory University Libraries
      Related collections include the papers of journalist Mildred Seydell (columnist for theAtlanta Georgian 1924-1939 and editor and publisher of her own bi-weekly newspaper,The Think Tank, 1941-1947); the Harvey Warren Cox Papers; the Joyce Knight Blackburn Papers; the Susan Myrick Papers; and the Emily Woodward Papers. See the John A. Sibley Papers and the Robert Winship Woodruff Papers for the Sibley and Woodruff connection to the Berry Board of Trustees.
    • Special Collections Libraries, University of Georgia Libraries
      Related collections include the David Lewis Earnest Photographic Collection and the Emily Woodward Papers.  
    • Archival Records @ WorldCat
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip