Research Resources - EDU 360 Dr. Eliana Hirano - Second Language Acquisition and Development

Core SLA Journals

Linguistics and SLA Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Review articles that critically analyze significant primary research and recent developments in biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education issues, research and practice.
Access to periodicals and books appropriate for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based education, and information technology.

Coverage Dates: 1983 - (indexing); 1996 - (full text)
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources. Literatures, folklore, linguistics.
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations plus 1,000 full text journals, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.

Coverage Dates: 1920s - present
PsycINFO (APA PsycNET) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research in psychology and related fields, from the historical to the present. Peer-reviewed journal articles; book chapters, book reviews, editorials, clinical case reports, empirical studies and literature reviews.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social sciences research, peer-reviewed.
The latest concepts, theories and methods from applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Full-text articles from more than 160 journals, with content dating back to 1972.

► TIP: You can find other databases relevant to research in Teacher Education by using the Research Databases link on the Library Homepage.

Click on the dropdown menu labeled "All Subjects."
Choose "Education."
You will see a list of suggested databases for beginning your research. Databases labeled as "Best Bets" are an especially good place to start!

Other Research Tools

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly content across academic disciplines, from all countries, and in all languages.

Set up Google Scholar for Off Campus Access to Berry Subscriptions
Because Google Scholar also extracts and presents citations, search results may include citations to older works that appear only in books or other offline publications.

► Use "Fulltext @ Berry College" links to access library's online subscriptions. If no "Fulltext @ Berry College" link appears, search the Journal Locator. Not all Berry library online content is reflected by the "Fulltext @ Berry College" link.

► TIP: Never pay for articles, theses, dissertations, or books! Use the free interlibrary loan service to request articles and books unavailable from Memorial Library. Get started with interlibrary loan with our guide.