Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Biochemistry

The basic tools you will need to research topics in chemistry and biochemistry, along with resources to help you write effectively within the discipline.

Find Articles on Chemistry & Biochemistry Topics

SciFinder - including the new generation SciFinder-n - is the core database for chemical literature. For the most comprehensive results, depending on the topic, you may want to go beyond SciFinder. Web of Science and PubMed/PubChem are useful additional resources. While each database offers different features, these search hints apply to most:   

Refine search results by adding other limits such as year, language, full text, etc.
Sort by date, author, title, or relevance.
Look for links to view full text of articles online.
For articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection, look for a link to request interlibrary loan. Often, these links will automatically fill in the request form for you.

Specialized Databases for Chemistry & Biochemistry

Finding Articles Once You Have a Citation

In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?

Check the Journal Locator!

Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.

If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.

___________

Is the journal title abbreviated?

Check CASSI!

Use the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for chemistry publications.

Other Techniques

  • Use the bibliography/reference list of articles & other sources you find. 
  • Review citing articles linked in SciFinder.
  • Check relevant articles in Web of Science or Google Scholar for additional citing articles.
  • Look for review articles on your topic. 
  • Make an appointment for a research consultation!