Enter your topic in the center search box and GO! Search results will include books & ebooks, book chapters & articles (mostly scholarly), videos, and other sources. Refine search results by checking format, content, topic, etc.
Create a My EBSCOhost account in order to use personalization tools, such as creating lists of favorite ebooks. View the titles online or download and check out the book to read without an internet connection.
This Dictionary provides over 75,000 entries covering all areas of chemistry, such as Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, and Nanochemistry, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise. This new edition will continue to be the Dictionary that chemists, educators, students, translators, and those working in English and Spanish in chemistry and associated fields have been trusting since the First Edition was published in 1998.
Simplifying the complex chemical reactions that take place in everyday through the well-stated answers for more than 900 common chemistry questions, this reference is the go-to guide for students and professionals alike. The Handy Chemistry Answer Book covers everything from the history, major personalities and ground-breaking reactions and equations in chemistry to laboratory techniques throughout history and the latest developments in the field. This reference guide breaks down the essentials into an easily understood format.
Topics discussed include crystal chemistry of an atropisomer; construction and structure of metal-organic frameworks with specific ion-exchange property; chemical sensors and biosensors; non-specific chemical gas sensor arrays for environmental monitoring of odour emissions; green analytical chemistry; microwave assisted-separations; metal-catalyzed electrophilic processes in ionic liquids; development of green chemistry processes for metallocomplex catalysis and the environmental impact of a lignite-fired power plant operation.
Topics discussed include advanced materials for wet electrochemical detection of organic impurities; electrochemical applications of modified electrodes in waste water treatment and energy conversion systems; electrochemical hydrogen storage; application of high temperature electrolysis for large-scale hydrogen production; electrolysis of nitrate aqueous solution; electrocoagulation and electroflotation; voltage stabilization using a storage capacitor and physical and electrochemical properties of quaternary ammonium salts.
Includes 500 complex illustrations in full color. * Thorough cross referencing and Definition Entries (one paragraph dictionary articles). * Reference list contains not only traditional material, but also FTP and HTTP sites and similar entries to electronic sources. * Contributions from more than 300 leading computational chemists.
The most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry comprises over 600 articles, arranged alphabetically by topic, in approximately 14000 pages, in 15 volumes. Features: * Outstanding authorship and the highest calibre editors * Excellence of peer-review * Article Summaries * Over 6500 illustrations, many in colour * Extensive cross-referencing to facilitate navigation between articles * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the essential cross-disciplinary reference work for all analytical chemists in academia and industry. All fields of chemical research are covered: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics and food science.
A comprehensive discussion of the biochemical aspects of metals in living systems. Beginning with an overview of metals and selected nonmetals in biology, the book then discusses the following concepts: basic coordination chemistry for biologists; structural and molecular biology for chemists; biological ligands for metal ions; intermediary metabolism and bioenergetics; and methods to study metals in biological systems. The book also covers metal assimilation pathways; transport, storage, and homeostasis of metal ions; sodium and potassium channels and pumps; magnesium phosphate metabolism and photoreceptors; calcium and cellular signaling; the catalytic role of several classes of mononuclear zinc enzymes; the biological chemistry of iron; and copper chemistry and biochemistry. In addition, the book discusses nickel and cobalt enzymes; manganese chemistry and biochemistry; molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium, and chromium; non-metals in biology; biomineralization; metals in the brain; metals and neurodegeneration; metals in medicine and metals as drugs; and metals in the environment.
A unique overview of the different approaches used for describing a chemical bond, including molecular-orbital based, valence-bond based, ELF, AIM and density-functional based methods. It takes into account the many developments that have taken place in the field over the past few decades due to the rapid advances in quantum chemical models and faster computers.
Covers a broad range of problems and challenges in organic chemistry where computational chemistry has played a significant role in developing new theories or where it has provided additional evidence to support experimentally derived insights. Readers do not have to be experts in quantum mechanics. The first chapter of the book introduces all of the major theoretical concepts and definitions of quantum mechanics followed by a chapter dedicated to computed spectral properties and structure identification. Next, the book covers: Fundamentals of organic chemistry, Pericyclic reactions, Diradicals and carbenes, Organic reactions of anions, Solution-phase organic chemistry, and Organic reaction dynamics. The final chapter offers new computational approaches to understand enzymes. The book features interviews with preeminent computational chemists, underscoring the role of collaboration in developing new science.
Covers topics including measurements, means and confidence intervals, hypothesis testing, analysis of variance, and calibration models. It is meant as an entry level book targeted at learning and teaching undergraduate data analysis.
Understanding, identifying and influencing the biological systems are the primary objectives of chemical biology. From this perspective, metal complexes have always been of great assistance to chemical biologists, for example, in structural identification and purification of essential biomolecules, for visualizing cellular organelles or to inhibit specific enzymes. This inorganic side of chemical biology, which continues to receive considerable attention, is referred to as inorganic chemical biology. Inorganic Chemical Biology: Principles, Techniques and Applications provides a comprehensive overview of the current and emerging role of metal complexes in chemical biology. Throughout all of the chapters there is a strong emphasis on fundamental theoretical chemistry and experiments that have been carried out in living cells or organisms.
Colloid and Surface Chemistry is a subject of immense importance and implications both to our everyday life and numerous industrial sectors, ranging from coatings and materials to medicine and biotechnology. How do detergents really clean? (Why can't we just use water ?) Why is milk "milky"? Why do we use eggs so often for making sauces? Can we deliver drugs in better and controlled ways? Coating industries wish to manufacture improved coatings e.g. for providing corrosion resistance, which are also environmentally friendly i.e. less based on organic solvents and if possible exclusively on water. Food companies want to develop healthy, tasty but also long-lasting food products which appeal to the environmental authorities and the consumer. Detergent and enzyme companies are working to develop improved formulations which clean more persistent stains, at lower temperatures and amounts, to the benefit of both the environment and our pocket. Cosmetics is also big business! Creams, lotions and other personal care products are really just complex emulsions. All of the above can be explained by the principles and methods of colloid and surface chemistry.
At the heart of coordination chemistry lies the coordinate bond, in its simplest sense arising from donation of a pair of electrons from a donor atom to an empty orbital on a central metalloid or metal. Metals overwhelmingly exist as their cations, but these are rarely met 'naked' - they are clothed in an array of other atoms, molecules or ions that involve coordinate covalent bonds (hence the name coordination compounds). These metal ion complexes are ubiquitous in nature, and are central to an array of natural and synthetic reactions. Written in a highly readable, descriptive and accessible style Introduction to Coordination Chemistry describes properties of coordination compounds such as colour, magnetism and reactivity as well as the logic in their assembly and nomenclature. It is illustrated with many examples of the importance of coordination chemistry in real life, and includes extensive references and a bibliography.
Focuses on two main aspects of physical chemistry: thermodynamics and reaction dynamics. By looking at the properties of the atoms and molecules that constitute matter, it makes use of results from modern experiments conducted on small numbers of molecules. These molecular properties allow the behaviour of larger groups of molecules to be predicted. This is in contrast to conventional approaches which are based upon how the subjects have developed historically. It attempts to show how some basic concepts can be easily applied to give verifiable results in simple systems before extending them to more complicated scenarios. The text is intended as an aid to understanding these central topics of physical chemistry, rather than an introduction to them, and some familiarity with them is assumed throughout. Worked examples and problems are given at the end of each chapter.
Strong content from basic to smart high school level describe organic chemistry and biochemistry. Good extended learning material of websites and further reading. Offers biographies, process diagrams, indepth theme descriptions. Experiments described and suggested throughout book. Glossaries, suggested "curriculum connections" and testing aids.
CNR Rao is a Linus Pauling Research professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and a honorary professor at the Indian Institute of science. He was at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur and has been a visting professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is a member of many science academies including the Indian National Science Academy, The Royal society, London, U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Russian Academy and Japan Academy.