SciFindern is the core database for chemical literature. For the most comprehensive results, depending on the topic, you may want to go beyond SciFindern. While SciFindern includes all of the biomedical literature in PubMed/PubChem, Web of Science is a useful additional resource that covers all areas of the sciences. It can also be useful to search only to contents of American Chemical Society journals - Memorial Library has full text access to all of them, from the first issue to the most recent.
While e-resources offer different features, these search hints apply to most:
►Refine search results by adding other limits such as year, language, full text, etc.
►Sort by date, author, title, or relevance.
►Look for links to view full text of articles online.
►For articles that are not part of Memorial Library's collection, look for a link to request interlibrary loan. Often, these links will automatically fill in the request form for you.
In many cases, the database will provide a link to full text. But when it doesn't, or if the link doesn't work, what do you do?
►Check the Journal Locator
Enter the title of the journal (not the article information) in the search box. Look for Full Text Available listings that include the year you need & click on the journal title.
If there's no link to full text, look for Print copies at your library. Click on the journal title & look carefully at the holdings information to determine location.
___________
►Check CASSI
Use the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for chemistry publications.
